Study environment in Canada

What’ll it be like for you as an international student in Canada? Canadian classrooms are diverse and multicultural. You can study in English or French (or both!)—our 2 official languages. And, you’ll find that teachers, instructors and professors are inclusive as well as supportive.  

Discover the study environment in Canada and how our approach to learning encourages students to thrive.

Inclusive, supportive learning environments

Canada is recognized for being a diverse and inclusive country. These are qualities you’ll see reflected in the classroom. We welcome people of all backgrounds, religions, beliefs, sexual orientations and abilities.

Our schools—from elementary to graduate studies—offer the supports students need to succeed. For some, that means extra attention and tutoring to get them through difficult subjects. For others, it might mean special accommodation to manage a condition or disability.

Canadian schools at all levels offer counselling and career services to help guide important decisions and set students on the path to success.

Safe schools, respect in the classroom

Across Canada, school boards, colleges and universities are committed to providing students and teachers safe environments in which to study and work. Safety, security and respect are important hallmarks of the Canadian education system.

Canadian values in education

Canadian classrooms value academic freedom, excellence and innovation. The quality of Canadian teaching at all levels is high. As a student in Canada, you’ll be encouraged to conduct original research and to share your ideas on important issues in your field of study. You’ll work collaboratively with other students, teachers, instructors and professors. All of this provides endless possibilities for your personal and professional growth—preparing you for the workplace and a successful career.

A typical day in a Canadian classroom

Find out what a typical day is like for international students at Canadian schools, colleges and universities. Our elementary school classrooms enrich students, while high schools offer rigorous academics combined with special programs that prepare teens for their future careers. At college and university, students benefit from a world-class education with Canada’s renowned professors, researchers and instructors.

Le milieu des études au Canada

À quoi pourrait ressembler votre vie comme étudiant international au Canada? Au Canada, les classes sont diversifiées et multiculturelles. Vous pourrez étudier dans l’une ou l’autre de nos deux langues officielles, c’est-à-dire en anglais ou en français (ou les deux!). Vous constaterez aussi que les professeurs, les instructeurs et les enseignants ont une attitude inclusive et constructive.

Découvrez le milieu des études au Canada et voyez en quoi notre approche favorise l’épanouissement des étudiants.

Un milieu d’apprentissage inclusif et constructif

Le Canada a la réputation d’être un pays cultivant la diversité et l’inclusivité. Ces qualités sont bien présentes dans les salles de cours. Nous accueillons des personnes de toutes origines, religions, croyances, orientations sexuelles et aptitudes.

Nos établissements d’enseignement – du primaire aux études supérieures – offrent aux étudiants le soutien dont ils ont besoin pour réussir leurs études. Pour certains, cela signifie une attention un peu plus soutenue ou un encadrement un peu plus serré pour assimiler une matière difficile. Pour d’autres, cela signifie des dispositions spéciales pour composer avec un problème de santé ou un handicap.

Dans tous nos établissements, on retrouve aussi des services de consultation psychologique et d’orientation professionnelle pour aider les étudiants à prendre des décisions importantes et à choisir la voie du succès.

Des écoles sécuritaires, des classes respectueuses

Au Canada, les conseils scolaires, les collèges et les universités sont résolus à offrir aux élèves et aux enseignants un milieu sécuritaire favorisant les études et le travail. Le système d’éducation canadien est placé sous le signe de la sécurité et du respect.

Les valeurs canadiennes dans le domaine de l’éducation

L’univers scolaire canadien valorise la liberté de pensée, l’excellence et l’innovation. La qualité de l’enseignement est élevée à tous les niveaux du système d’éducation. À titre d’étudiant au Canada, vous serez encouragé à mener des recherches originales et à exprimer vos idées sur des questions importantes dans votre domaine d’études. Vous travaillerez en collaboration avec d’autres élèves, enseignants, instructeurs et professeurs. Vous aurez ainsi d’innombrables possibilités de croître sur le plan personnel et professionnel – et de vous préparer au marché du travail et à un emploi prospère.

La journée typique d’un étudiant au Canada

Découvrez comment se déroule une journée typique dans la vie d’un étudiant international inscrit dans une école, un collège ou une université du Canada. Nos écoles primaires veillent au développement des élèves tandis que nos écoles secondaires offrent des cours rigoureux conjugués à des programmes spécialisés qui préparent les jeunes au monde du travail. Au collège et à l’université, le Canada offre un enseignement de calibre mondial avec des professeurs, des chercheurs et des instructeurs réputés.