Elementary school in Canada

Moving to Canada with your family? Our elementary schools will provide your child with an enriching, safe and supportive learning environment with some of the best teachers in the world.

Children in Canada attend elementary or primary school for the first 8 grades of school. School starts with kindergarten at ages 4 or 5, and children move onto high school after completing elementary or primary school.

Quality teachers, high-quality education

Canada ranks 3rd among the world’s wealthiest countries in terms of the quality of education. Our greatest strengths lie in delivering excellent learning programs at the elementary and secondary school levels in reading, math and science[1].

Our primary students are high achievers thanks to our high-quality teachers. Canadian teachers are passionate about their work. They create interactive, supportive learning environments for children and integrate innovative learning methods and technologies to strengthen learning.

Canadian teachers have a bachelor’s degree and practical teacher training before entering the profession. Many go on to obtain master’s degrees. All teachers must maintain and upgrade their skills through regular professional development.

Standards and quality assurance

Canada’s 10 provinces and 3 territories oversee education and each of their ministries of education recognizes the importance of maintaining high standards. Through the Council of Ministers of Education Canada, a national organization, they collaborate to ensure quality and consistency in the education system[2].

Attending elementary school in Canada

Each province and territory decides when the school year starts and ends, although it usually begins in September and ends in June. School hours generally run from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m., or 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., from Monday to Friday.

Education is free for all students in the Canadian public school system. Children must attend school until age 16 or 18, depending on the province or territory.

Public elementary schools

Many Canadian public schools now accept international students into their programs. Publicly-funded primary schools are managed at the local level by elected school boards, which deliver a standard curriculum or program of study. Almost all public schools have male and female students in the same classes. They offer day programs only.

In most parts of Canada, international students can choose to study in English, French or both languages. In Quebec, elementary schooling for international students occurs in French, unless the parents apply to have their child study in English.

Some provinces offer a separate school system that includes classes in religion. This is part of the public school system and is open to all.

Private elementary schools

Private schools in Canada charge fees and they must deliver the same curriculum as public schools in that province or territory. This ensures that students complete the same course of study as students in the public school system.

The legal status of private schools varies across Canada. Most provinces and territories require private schools to register with their ministries of education. The schools must follow the curriculum and other standards set by that province.

The way private and independent schools deliver programs may differ from the public school system. Class sizes are often smaller, and students may benefit from specialized programming. Some private schools will have a religious program, as well as standard school subjects. Sometimes, private schools are set up for boys only or for girls only.

Private schools include boarding schools (with on-site accommodations) such as, Montessori/Waldorf schools, International Baccalaureate schools and Arrowsmith schools for students with learning disabilities.

Cost of elementary school in Canada

Public elementary or primary school is free for residents of Canada. If you’re sending your child to Canada to study, please check with the school to find out if there are fees for international students. Sometimes, schools charge small fees for your child to participate in extra activities, such as sports teams or school outings. Most children bring their own lunch to school, however, some schools offer cafeterias or hot lunch programs where your child may purchase a meal.

Educational requirements

To enter an elementary school in Canada, children may need to show they have:

  • Finished certain grades that correspond to grade levels in Canada
  • Proficient language skills in English or French
  • School results or report cards from their home country

Use this national directory of schools (public and private) to identify a Canadian school and then determine the requirements your school sets for international students.

How to enroll

There may be deadlines for applying to certain schools. This also applies to private schools. Contact a local school board if you want to enroll your child in a public elementary school. These boards often assess new students, so that the student can begin classes in the correct grade. The school may offer free English or French language classes before your child begins academic classes.


[1] Education and Skills Report Card, Conference Board of Canada, 2014.

[2] Top Performing Countries (Canada), Center on International Education Benchmarking, 2018.

École primaire du Canada

Vous venez au Canada avec votre famille? Nos écoles primaires offrent à vos enfants un milieu enrichissant, sécuritaire et positif et des enseignants qui sont parmi les meilleurs au monde.

Au Canada, les enfants fréquentent l’école primaire (ou « élémentaire ») pendant 8 ans. Ils commencent à la maternelle vers l’âge de 4 ou 5 ans puis passent au secondaire après leurs études primaires (ou « élémentaires »).

Des enseignants et, une éducation de grande qualité

Le Canada se classe au 3e rang de pays les plus riches du monde pour la qualité de ses programmes d’études. Notre plus grande force est d’offrir d’excellents programmes d’enseignement aux niveaux primaire et secondaire, aussi bien en lecture qu’en mathématiques et en sciences[1].

Les élèves du primaire obtiennent d’excellents résultats grâce à nos enseignants hautement qualifiés. Les enseignants canadiens sont passionnés par leur travail. Ils offrent aux enfants un milieu d’apprentissage constructif et interactif et intègrent des méthodes et des technologies pédagogiques novatrices qui consolident l’apprentissage.

Au Canada, les enseignants ont un baccalauréat et suivent une formation pratique avant d’être admis dans la profession. Bon nombre se rendent jusqu’à la maîtrise. Tous les enseignants doivent se perfectionner régulièrement pour maintenir ou améliorer leurs compétences.

Normes et assurance de la qualité

Les gouvernements des 10 provinces et 3 territoires canadiens sont responsables de l’éducation, et leurs ministères respectifs reconnaissent l’importance d’adopter des normes élevées en la matière. Par l’entremise d’un organisme national, le Conseil des ministres de l’Éducation (Canada), ils collaborent pour veiller à la qualité et à la cohérence du système d’éducation canadien[2].

Fréquenter l’école primaire au Canada

Chaque province et territoire décide de la date à laquelle commence et se termine l’année scolaire – qui s’étend généralement de septembre à juin. Les journées de classe sont du lundi au vendredi, et les heures de classes sont typiquement de 8 h à 15 h ou de 9 h à 16 h.

Au Canada, l’enseignement est gratuit pour tous les élèves du système scolaire public. Les enfants doivent fréquenter l’école jusqu’à l’âge de 16 ou 18 ans, selon la province ou le territoire.

Les écoles primaires publiques

De nombreuses écoles publiques canadiennes acceptent maintenant des étudiants internationaux. Les écoles primaires financées par le secteur public sont administrées par des conseils scolaires locaux, qui exécutent un programme pédagogique – ou programme d’études – standard. Presque toutes les écoles publiques sont mixtes, c’est-à-dire qu’elles accueillent des filles et des garçons. Elles offrent seulement des programmes de jour.

Dans la plupart des régions canadiennes, les étudiants internationaux peuvent choisir d’étudier en français, en anglais ou dans les deux langues. Au Québec, il faut inscrire les enfants dans une école primaire francophone, à moins que les parents fassent une demande spéciale pour les inscrire dans une école anglophone.

Certaines provinces possèdent un système « d’écoles séparées » comprenant un enseignement religieux. Ces écoles font partie du système scolaire public et tout le monde y a accès.

Les écoles primaires privées

Au Canada, les écoles privées sont payantes, mais suivent le programme pédagogique de la province ou du territoire concerné. Ainsi, les élèves du système public et privé ont le même niveau d’instruction.

Le statut juridique des écoles privées varie d’une région à l’autre du Canada. Généralement, les écoles privées doivent être inscrites auprès du ministère de l’Éducation de la province ou du territoire concerné. Elles doivent suivre le programme et appliquer les normes établies par la province ou le territoire.

Les écoles privées ou indépendantes peuvent exécuter le programme d’études différemment des écoles publiques. Dans les écoles privées, les classes comptent souvent moins d’élèves et ces derniers peuvent bénéficier de programmes spécialisés. En plus des matières scolaires standard, certaines offrent des programmes religieux. Certaines écoles privées sont réservées aux filles, d’autres aux garçons.

Les écoles privées comprennent des pensionnats (les enfants y sont logés et nourris), des écoles alternatives comme Montessori ou Waldorf, des écoles offrant le baccalauréat international, ainsi que des écoles Arrowsmith, destinées aux élèves ayant des troubles d’apprentissage.

Coût des études primaires au Canada

Au niveau primaire ou « élémentaire » , l’école publique est gratuite pour tous les résidents du Canada. Si vous voulez inscrire votre enfant dans une école primaire canadienne, communiquez avec cette école pour savoir si elle impose des frais de scolarité aux étudiants internationaux. Parfois, l’école demande seulement de payer de petits montants additionnels pour la participation de votre enfant aux activités spéciales , par exemple, une excursion scolaire ou une activité sportive. La plupart des enfants apportent leur repas du midi à l’école. Toutefois, certaines écoles offrent un service de cafétéria ou de traiteur.

Exigences scolaires

Pour que votre enfant soit admis dans une école primaire canadienne, il vous faudra sans doute fournir :

  • la preuve qu’il a franchi certains niveaux correspondant aux niveaux canadiens;
  • la preuve qu’il a une bonne maîtrise de l’anglais ou du français;
  • les bulletins scolaires ou les résultats obtenus dans son pays.

Consultez le Répertoire des établissements d’enseignement au Canada pour trouver une école canadienne (publique ou privée) et pour connaître ses exigences à l’endroit des étudiants internationaux.

Comment s’inscrire

Certaines écoles, y compris les écoles privées, fixent parfois des dates limites pour les inscriptions. Communiquez avec le conseil scolaire concerné pour inscrire votre enfant dans une école primaire publique. Ces conseils évaluent souvent le niveau d’instruction d’un nouvel élève pour déterminer son classement. L’école offre parfois des cours de français ou d’anglais gratuits avant que l’enfant entame sa scolarité.


[1] Éducation et compétence, Conference Board du Canada, 2014.

[2] Top Performing Countries (Canada), Center on International Education Benchmarking, 2018 (anglais seulement).