Group of students with backpacks sitting outside on a mountaintop

Elementary and high school in Canada

Why pursue K-12 studies in Canada

As a parent, choosing a Canadian elementary or high school (kindergarten through grade 12) is an investment in your child’s future. Canada is known for its world-class education and spends more on education than on average across OECD countries. Canadian schools have highly educated teachers, modern technology and aim for low student-teacher ratios.

As a student, choosing to study abroad in Canada means you’ll get to learn alongside other students from around the world and from here in Canada. You’ll get the chance to make friendships that will last a lifetime while exploring a beautiful and welcoming country.

In general, elementary school in Canada runs from kindergarten to grade 6, junior high or middle school runs from grades 7-8, and high school runs from grades 9-12. This varies from province to province. Kindergarten starts as early as four years old. Most high school graduates turn 18 the year they graduate, except in Quebec where graduates are 16 years old.

Study and accommodations options

There are a variety of short and long term study options available in Canada based on your needs. Whether you choose a summer camp, one semester or a full academic year, something in-between or longer, studying in Canada will be a life-changing experience!

Types of schools

Parents and young student wearing a backpack walking outside

Public Schools: Publicly-funded schools are managed at the local level by elected school boards. Students will learn the standard provincial curriculum and some specialized study programs. Almost all public schools have male and female students in the same classes. They offer day programs only.

Independent/Private Schools: These schools charge tuition and they must deliver the same curriculum as public schools in that province or territory. The legal status of independent schools varies across Canada. Most provinces and territories require independent schools to register with their ministries of education and follow the curriculum and other standards.

Note:

For both public and independent schools, international students must pay annual tuition fees. For more details about studying in the Canadian province you are interested in, please visit the Canadian Association of Public Schools - International and Canadian Accredited Independent Schools.

Lengths of study

  • Summer camps (1-6 weeks)
  • Short term integration programs (1-3 months)
  • One semester (5 months)
  • Full academic year (10 months)

Accommodations

International students who do not have a parent, relative or family friend who will be residing with them while they study in Canada can either stay with a host family or in a boarding school environment.

Canadian host family: Homestay programs allow international students over the age of 12 to live with a carefully selected and well-matched Canadian host family. Your child will get:

  • a furnished private bedroom
  • three meals per day and snacks
  • ‘parental’ support
  • introduction to the local community
  • recreational activities

Boarding school environment: At boarding school, your child will live and learn on campus with the support of devoted staff who supervise and guide students in a safe environment. Your child will get:

  • a place to stay
  • meals and snacks
  • access to recreational activities
  • guidance with schoolwork from teachers

After your studies

As an international student, graduating from a Canadian high school can also be your first step to eventually stay and work in Canada. Canada has many programs to help you pursue post-secondary education in Canada and to stay and work after graduating from a Canadian college or university.

Learn more about options for staying in Canada after completing your high school education:

Inquire now!

Éducation primaire et secondaire au Canada

Pourquoi faire ses études de la maternelle à la 12e année au Canada?

En tant que parent, choisir une école primaire ou secondaire au Canada (de la maternelle à la 12e année) est un investissement dans l’avenir de son enfant. Réputé pour son enseignement de classe mondiale, le Canada consacre des sommes plus importantes à l’éducation que la moyenne des pays de l’OCDE. Les écoles canadiennes ont des enseignants hautement qualifiés, des technologies modernes et un faible ratio élèves/enseignant.

En tant qu’élève, choisir d’étudier à l’étranger au Canada signifie que vous pourrez apprendre aux côtés d’autres élèves du monde entier et d’ici au Canada. Vous aurez la chance de nouer des amitiés qui dureront toute une vie tout en explorant un pays magnifique et accueillant.

En général, l’école primaire au Canada va de la maternelle à la 6e année et l’école secondaire, de la 7e à la 12e année. Cela varie d’une province à l’autre. La maternelle commence dès l’âge de quatre ans. La plupart des diplômés du secondaire atteignent l’âge de 18 ans l’année où ils obtiennent leur diplôme, sauf au Québec, où ils ont 16 ans.

Options d’études et d’hébergement

Il existe une variété de possibilités d’études à court et à long terme au Canada en fonction de ce qui vous convient. Que vous choisissiez une colonie de vacances, un semestre ou une année scolaire complète, quelque chose d’intermédiaire ou de plus long, étudier au Canada sera une expérience qui changera votre vie!

Types d’écoles

Écoles publiques : Les écoles financées par le secteur public sont administrées à l’échelle locale par des conseils scolaires élus. Elles offrent le programme d’études provincial standard en plus de certains programmes d’études spécialisés. Presque toutes les écoles publiques sont mixtes, c’est-à-dire qu’elles accueillent des filles et des garçons. Elles offrent seulement des programmes de jour.

Écoles indépendantes/privées : Ces écoles exigent des droits de scolarité et elles doivent offrir le même programme que les écoles publiques de la province ou du territoire en question. Le statut juridique des écoles indépendantes varie d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. La plupart des provinces et des territoires exigent que les écoles indépendantes s’inscrivent auprès de leur ministère de l’Éducation et qu’elles suivent le programme d’études, ainsi que d’autres normes.

Remarque :

Pour les écoles publiques et indépendantes, les étudiants internationaux doivent payer des droits de scolarité annuels. Pour en savoir plus sur les études dans la province canadienne qui vous intéresse, veuillez consulter l’Association canadienne des écoles publiques — International et Canadian Accredited Independent Schools (anglais seulement).

Durée des études

  • Camps d’été (de une à six semaines)
  • Programmes d’intégration à court terme (de un à trois mois)
  • Un semestre (cinq mois)
  • Année scolaire complète (dix mois)

Hébergement

Les étudiants internationaux ne vivront pas avec un parent, un proche ou un ami de la famille pendant leurs études au Canada peuvent séjourner dans une famille d’accueil ou dans un pensionnat.

Famille d’accueil canadienne : Les programmes d’hébergement en famille d’accueil permettent aux étudiants internationaux de plus de douze ans de vivre dans une famille d’accueil canadienne soigneusement sélectionnée et bien assortie. Votre enfant bénéficiera de ce qui suit :

  • une chambre individuelle meublée
  • trois repas par jour et des collations
  • un soutien « parental »
  • une présentation de la collectivité locale
  • des activités récréatives

Pensionnat : Au pensionnat, votre enfant vivra et apprendra sur le campus avec le soutien d’un personnel dévoué qui l’encadrera et qui le guidera dans un environnement sécuritaire. Votre enfant bénéficiera de ce qui suit :

  • un endroit où séjourner
  • des repas et des collations
  • un accès à des activités de loisir
  • de l’aide aux travaux scolaires de la part des enseignants

Après vos études

En tant qu’étudiant étranger, l’obtention d’un diplôme d’études secondaires au Canada peut aussi votre première étape pour éventuellement rester et travailler au Canada. Le Canada offre de nombreux programmes pour vous aider à poursuivre des études postsecondaires au Canada et à rester et à travailler après avoir obtenu votre diplôme d’un collège ou d’une université canadienne.

Renseignez-vous sur les possibilités de rester au Canada après avoir terminé vos études secondaires :

Renseignez-vous maintenant!