Levels of study in Canada – kindergarten to high school

Canada has one of the strongest records of student achievement in the world. That’s why we’re an excellent choice for elementary and high school education. In fact, sending your child to Canada for school is one of the best ways to prepare them for college or university.

In general elementary school in Canada runs from kindergarten to grade 6, junior high or middle school runs from grades 7-8, and high school runs from grades 9-12. This varies from province to province. Kindergarten starts as early as four years old, while most high school graduates turn 18 the year they graduate. 

For a more detailed look at what school is like in the Canadian province you are interested in, please visit the Canadian Association of Public Schools International.

Public schools

Many Canadian public schools accept international students into their programs. Publicly-funded schools are managed at the local level by elected school boards, which deliver the standard provincial curriculum in addition to some specialized programs of study. Almost all public schools have male and female students in the same classes. They offer day programs only.

International students can choose to study in English, French or both languages.

International students attending public school typically also take advantage of living in ‘homestay’ with a Canadian host family. However, students are also welcome to live with a family friend, relative or even a parent.

Learn more about public schools in Canada at the Canadian Association of Public Schools International (CAPS-I) website.

Independent (private) schools

Independent schools (also known as private schools) in Canada charge fees and they must deliver the same curriculum as public schools in that province or territory. This ensures that students complete the same course of study as students in the public school system.

The legal status of independent schools varies across Canada. Most provinces and territories require independent schools to register with their ministries of education. The schools must follow the curriculum and other standards set by that province.

Both public and independent elementary and high schools offer homestay programs, however only some independent schools offer the boarding option (on-site accommodations). Independent high schools include boarding schools, alternative schools, international baccalaureate programs and specialized sports programs or schools for students with learning disabilities.

Learn more about independent schools in Canada at the Canadian Accredited Independent Schools (CAIS) website.

Niveaux d’études au Canada — de la maternelle au secondaire

Le Canada est l’un des pays enregistrant le taux de réussite scolaire le plus élevé au monde. Il s’agit donc d’un choix excellent pour l’éducation primaire et secondaire. En fait, l’une des meilleures façons de préparer votre enfant au collège ou à l’université, c’est de l’inscrire dans une école canadienne.

En général, l’école primaire au Canada va de la maternelle à la 8e année et l’école secondaire va de la 9e à la 12e année. Cela varie d’une province à l’autre. La maternelle commence dès l’âge de quatre ans, tandis que la plupart des diplômés du secondaire atteignent l’âge de 18 ans l’année qu’ils obtiennent leur diplôme. 

Pour obtenir un aperçu plus détaillé de la situation des écoles dans la province canadienne qui vous intéresse, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Association canadienne des écoles publiques — International.

Écoles publiques

De nombreuses écoles publiques canadiennes acceptent des étudiants internationaux dans leurs programmes. Les écoles financées par le secteur public sont administrées à l’échelle locale par des conseils scolaires élus, qui offrent le programme d’études provincial standard en plus de certains programmes d’études spécialisés. Presque toutes les écoles publiques sont mixtes, c’est-à-dire qu’elles accueillent des filles et des garçons. Elles offrent seulement des programmes de jour.

Les étudiants internationaux ont le choix d’étudier en anglais, en français ou dans les deux langues.

Les étudiants internationaux qui fréquentent l’école publique profitent généralement du fait qu’ils vivent dans une famille d’accueil canadienne. Cependant, les élèves sont également les bienvenus chez un ami de la famille, un membre de la famille ou même un parent.

Pour en savoir plus sur les écoles publiques au Canada, veuillez consulter le site Web de l’Association canadienne des écoles publiques — International (ACEP-I)

Écoles indépendantes ou privées

Au Canada, les écoles indépendantes (aussi appelées écoles privées) exigent des frais de scolarité et doivent offrir le même programme que les écoles publiques de la province ou du territoire en question. On veille ainsi à ce que les élèves aient la même formation que ceux des écoles publiques.

Le statut juridique des écoles indépendantes varie d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. La plupart des provinces et des territoires exigent que les écoles indépendantes s’inscrivent auprès de leur ministère de l’Éducation. Les écoles doivent suivre le programme d’études et les autres normes établies par cette province.

Les écoles publiques et indépendantes de niveau primaire et secondaire offrent des programmes de séjour en famille d’accueil, cependant, seules certaines écoles indépendantes offrent l’option d’un pensionnat (les élèves sont logés et nourris). Les écoles secondaires indépendantes comprennent des pensionnats, des écoles alternatives, des écoles offrant le baccalauréat international ainsi que des écoles offrant des programmes spécialisés en sports ou des programmes destinés aux élèves ayant des troubles d’apprentissage.

Pour en savoir plus sur les écoles indépendantes au Canada, veuillez consulter le site Web de la Canadian Accredited Independent Schools (CAIS) (anglais seulement).