Choose Canada’s Prairies to study STEM

Why study STEM at a Canadian college or university

Get free information

Discover welcoming, affordable communities and strong career opportunities in Canada’s Prairies. The colleges and universities in this region also offer a wide range of world-leading science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs. You’ll also benefit from work-integrated learning, research opportunities and tons of support for international students.

Career opportunities and industry connections

Studying STEM in the Prairies will give you a mix of both classroom and hands-on learning to help you get job-ready. In Canada, you can get work experience while studying. Many schools also have strong industry ties which means you will be able to take advantage of networking, co-op and internship opportunities.

Quality learning and research

The rapidly evolving STEM fields are always in need of new ideas! Schools in the Prairies give students access to cutting-edge facilities, programs and professors. You’ll have the chance to work on research projects to build your creativity, analytical and problem-solving skills.

Supportive campus environments

In addition to quality education, you’ll find welcoming on-campus environments for international students. Many institutions have smaller class sizes and will offer you mentorship, support programs and other services throughout your studies.

STEM programs to prepare you for the future

Choose from a range of STEM disciplines based on your interests and passions. No matter what you study, you’ll find opportunities to build a career in your field. As the STEM field continues to grow in Canada, more graduates are needed to join the workforce and meet future challenges.

SCIENCE

Canada is ranked 7th in the world for share of high-quality research outputs from academic institutions in the field of natural sciences. Get the research and analytical skills you need to build a meaningful career by studying programs such as:

  • Biology and microbiology
  • Chemistry
  • Environmental sciences

TECHNOLOGY

Learn the digital and technical skills that are in high-demand across industries. Studying within the tech space can lead you to career opportunities in areas such as:

  • Computer science
  • Data science and machine learning
  • Information systems
  • Cyber security

ENGINEERING

A degree in engineering means you’ll solve real-world problems on a daily basis. Choose from different programs to find the right engineering discipline for you, including:

  • Civil engineering
  • Chemical engineering
  • Computer engineering
  • Power engineering

MATH

Learn analytical problem solving skills that will be transferable across industries. By studying these programs your degree will provide you with global opportunities:

  • Data science
  • Statistics
  • Mathematics and applied mathematics
  • Computing science

Get free information

Inquire now! Interested in studying STEM in Canada? Fill out this form to get more information.

Live and work in the Prairies

Three Canadian provinces in Western Canada make up the Prairies: Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. These provinces are known as strong economic drivers in natural resource industries such as energy, mining and agriculture. No matter where you live, you’ll enjoy economic opportunities, quality of life and unique outdoor adventures!

Choose from a wide range of postsecondary institutions and programs to match your interests and career goals. Learn more about STEM programs at institutions in Canada’s prairies:

Alberta

Surrounded by the Rocky Mountains, Alberta is known for its lively communities and world renowned Calgary Stampede. The province is one of Canada’s economic engines, with strong oil and gas, natural resources, and tech sectors.

Find STEM programs

Manitoba

You’ll find safe, vibrant, friendly and affordable communities in this province. Manitoba boasts one of the country’s most diverse economies with its rich natural resources, hydro-electric capacity, manufacturing base and highly educated workforce.

Find STEM programs

Saskatchewan

In Saskatchewan you can enjoy affordable cost of living, vast natural beauty and cultural diversity. Saskatchewan is a world leader in agriculture, natural energy resources, and manufacturing sectors and is also increasingly growing its high-tech industries.

Find STEM programs

Featured video

From Egypt to Canada - Why I chose Canada for my studies

Marwa, a PhD student from Egypt, speaks about her experience studying Chemistry at the University of Calgary. She talks about moving to Canada with her young family and how they have adapted to their new life.

⇅ Transcript

Marwa: My name is Marwa and I am a PHD candidate at Chemistry Department, University of Calgary. I born and raised in a small city in Egypt called Ismailia.

After I finished my Masters degree, I wanted to get a solid education in electrochemistry.

At that time, I had my baby and also I was married, so moving the whole family to a foreign country, it wasn’t an easy choice.

I choose Canada because I wanted a country that supports raising kids in a very friendly environment. I was targeting to join a very strong group in electrochemistry and my current supervisor is one of the big leaders in electrochemistry worldwide.

I think the main reason I have success and am still pursuing my PHD is the solid education I’m getting at University of Calgary – many resources, many chances to enhance your background, your study.

I think Canada is the best place to have a better future, career, life and education. You will also be very supported from the neighbourhood and the Canadian people. They are accepting anybody basically, whatever your background, whatever your religion, you will be accepted.

You can make friends from all over the world, like I have Canadian friends, Chinese, Iranian, Egyptian.

I would like also to be a source of an inspiration for my son, my family and all women, especially in academic environment. I’m just enjoying the journey and looking forward to graduate and have my career afterwards.

My greatest achievement since I came to Canada, I think it is confidence and being a strong woman.

Choisissez les Prairies du Canada pour vos études en STIM

Pourquoi étudier les STIM dans un collège ou une université canadienne

Obtenez de l’info gratuite

Les collectivités des Prairies canadiennes vous attendent à bras ouverts et vous offrent un coût de la vie abordable ainsi que d’excellentes possibilités de carrière. Les collèges et universités de cette région proposent un large éventail de programmes en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM) de classe mondiale. Vous bénéficierez également d’occasions d’apprentissage intégré au travail et de recherche, en plus d’une foule de services de soutien destinés aux étudiants internationaux.

Possibilités de carrière et relations sur le marché du travail

Vos études reliées aux STIM vous procureront l’apprentissage en classe et la formation pratique qu’il faut pour vous préparer à un emploi. Au Canada, vous pouvez acquérir une expérience professionnelle tout en étudiant. De nombreuses universités des Prairies entretiennent aussi de solides relations avec les entreprises du secteur, ce qui signifie que vous pourrez profiter des possibilités dans le cadre de programmes coop, de stages et d’occasions de réseautage.

Recherche et compétences en résolution de problèmes

Les domaines des STIM évoluent rapidement et carburent aux nouvelles idées! Les écoles des Prairies fournissent à leurs étudiants des installations, des ressources et des programmes à la fine pointe de la technologie. Vous aurez l’occasion de participer à des projets de recherche qui vous permettront d’aiguiser votre créativité et vos compétences d’analyse et de résolution de problèmes.

Milieux d’apprentissage axés sur la qualité et le soutien

Les écoles des Prairies peuvent compter sur des professeurs de calibre mondial, des programmes d’études novateurs et de solides partenariats avec des sociétés du secteur. En plus de recevoir une éducation de qualité, vous évoluerez dans un environnement où les étudiants internationaux sont accueillis à bras ouverts. De nombreux établissements d’enseignement prévoient des classes de taille modeste et vous proposent du mentorat, des programmes de soutien et d’autres services aux étudiants tout au long de vos études.

Les programmes de STIM vous préparent pour l’avenir

Choisissez parmi une foule de disciplines selon vos intérêts et vos passions. Peu importe ce que vous étudiez, vous trouverez des occasions de bâtir une carrière dans votre domaine. Le domaine des STIM continue de grandir au Canada; nous avons toujours besoin de diplômés voulant apporter une contribution et relever les défis de demain.

SCIENCE

Le Canada se classe au 7e rang mondial pour la part des résultats de recherche de haute qualité provenant d’établissements universitaires dans le domaine des sciences naturelles. Procurez vous les compétences en recherche et en analyse qu'il vous faut pour bâtir une carrière fructueuse en étudiant dans des programmes comme les suivants :

  • Biologie et microbiologie
  • Chimie
  • Sciences de l’environnement

TECHNOLOGIE

Développez les compétences numériques et techniques fortement convoitées dans tous les secteurs. Vos études dans le domaine de la technologie vous ouvriront des débouchés dans des secteurs comme les suivants :

  • Informatique
  • Science des données et apprentissage automatique
  • Systèmes d’information
  • Cybersécurité

GÉNIE

Les titulaires de diplôme en génie règlent des problèmes réels tous les jours. Choisissez parmi divers programmes pour trouver la branche du génie qui vous convient, dont les suivants :

  • Génie civil
  • Génie chimique
  • Génie informatique
  • Génie énergétique

MATHÉMATIQUES

Développez des compétences d’analyse et de résolution de problèmes qui seront utiles dans tous les secteurs d’activités. Si vous étudiez dans ces programmes, votre diplôme vous ouvrira des portes partout dans le monde :

  • Science des données
  • Statistique
  • Mathématiques et mathématiques appliquées
  • Informatique

Obtenez de l’info gratuite

Informez-vous maintenant! Vous souhaitez étudier les STIM au Canada? Remplissez ce formulaire pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Vivez et travaillez dans les Prairies

Les Prairies sont constituées de trois provinces canadiennes : l’Alberta, le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan. Ces provinces sont reconnues en tant que moteurs économiques importants dans l’exploitation des ressources naturelles, comme les secteurs énergétique, minier et agricole. Peu importe où vous élirez domicile, les possibilités économiques, la qualité de vie et les grands espaces vous attendent !

Avec ce large éventail d’établissements d’enseignement et de programmes postsecondaires, vous trouverez sûrement des possibilités reflétant vos intérêts et vos objectifs de carrière. Pour en savoir plus sur les programmes de STIM des établissements d’enseignement des Prairies du Canada :

Alberta

Entourée par les montagnes Rocheuses, l’Alberta est connue pour ses collectivités animées et le mondialement célèbre Calgary Stampede. Dotée de secteurs d’activité robustes (pétrole et gaz, ressources naturelles et technologies), la province est un moteur économique important pour le Canada.

Trouver des programmes de STIM

Disponible en anglais seulement.

Manitoba

Vous trouverez dans cette province des collectivités abordables et sûres où les gens sont dynamiques et amicaux. Le Manitoba possède l’une des économies les plus diversifiées du pays, avec ses riches ressources naturelles, sa capacité hydroélectrique, sa base manufacturière et sa population très instruite.

Trouver des programmes de STIM

Disponible en anglais seulement.

Saskatchewan

La Saskatchewan vous propose de grands espaces naturels et la diversité culturelle dans un lieu où le coût de la vie est abordable. Chef de file de l’agriculture, des ressources énergétiques naturelles et des secteurs de fabrication, la province est dotée d’une industrie de haute technologie florissante.

Trouver des programmes de STIM

Disponible en anglais seulement.

Vidéo en vedette

De l'Égypte au Canada - Pourquoi j'ai choisi le Canada pour mes études

Marwa, étudiante au doctorat d'Égypte, parle de son expérience en chimie à l'Université de Calgary. Elle parle de déménager au Canada avec sa jeune famille et comment ils se sont adaptés à leur nouvelle vie.

⇅ Transcription

Marwa : Je m'appelle Marwa et je suis étudiante au doctorat au département de chimie de l'université de Calgary. Je suis née et j'ai grandi dans une petite ville d'Égypte qui s’appelle Ismaïlia.

Après avoir terminé ma maîtrise, je voulais avoir une solide formation en électrochimie.

À l'époque, j'ai eu mon bébé et j'étais également mariée, donc le fait de déménager toute la famille dans un pays étranger n’a pas été un choix facile.

J'ai choisi le Canada car je voulais habiter un pays me permettant d’élever mes enfants dans un milieu chaleureux. Je voulais me joindre à un groupe très solide en électrochimie et mon superviseur actuel est l'un des grands chefs de file mondiaux de l’électrochimie.

Je crois que si je réussis mes études, et si je poursuis mon doctorat, c’est surtout parce que l’Université de Calgary offre un milieu d’éducation très riche – beaucoup de ressources, beaucoup d’occasions de consolider les acquis et l’apprentissage.

Je pense que le Canada est le meilleur endroit pour avoir un meilleur avenir, une meilleure carrière, une meilleure vie et une meilleure éducation. Vous serez également très soutenus par vos voisins et par les Canadiens en général. Ils accueillent tout le monde à bras ouverts, quelles que soient vos origines ou votre religion, vous serez accepté.

Vous pouvez vous faire des amis du monde entier : j'ai des amis canadiens, chinois, iraniens, égyptiens.

Je voudrais aussi être une source d'inspiration pour mon fils, ma famille et toutes les femmes, en particulier dans le milieu universitaire. Je profite de chaque instant de cette aventure et j'ai hâte d'obtenir mon diplôme, puis d’aller sur le marché du travail.

Mon plus grand succès depuis mon arrivée au Canada, je crois que c’est d’avoir gagné en confiance et d’être une femme forte.