EduCanada and Atlantic STEM

Frequently asked questions

Making the jump to study in Atlantic Canada is a bold one. Below are some frequently asked questions which should help you find your way.

Working and studying

Can I work while I study in Canada?

There are a number of opportunities to work on or off campus while studying in Canada, learn more about working while you study in Canada.

Can I stay after graduation and work in Canada?

There are many options available to you once you have completed your studies in Canada. Learn more about working after graduation.

Can I do a co-op/student work placement?

Many universities in the Atlantic provide valuable STEM related work and research experiences through their co-op programs. The aim of co-op programs is to provide actual work experience on top of academic knowledge. To learn more about co-op and intern opportunities, visit the EduCanada Internships and Co-op Programs webpage or visit the institutions’ website.

Application and admission

How do Canadian post-secondary institutions recognize international grading systems?

As part of the admission process, the institution will assess previously completed academic credentials. Through this process, they:

  • Verify the authenticity of the individuals documents
  • Compare those with similar credentials issued in the provinces and territories of Canada
  • Award transfer credits (if applicable)

Each institution has sole authority to determine the recognition of academic credentials for the purpose of admission to that institution. Visit the website of the chosen institution for more information on its specific requirements. Learn more about credentials recognition on the Apply to Study in Canada section of the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials website.

What are the tuition fees for non-Canadian students?

Tuition fees will vary depending on the institution and the province. Learn more about the cost of studying in Canada or contact the school directly.

How can I get a scholarship or bursary to study in Canada?

Information about scholarships, bursaries, and fellowships for international students is available on the International Scholarships website. Several scholarships are available for international students. Contact the institution(s) of interest to find out more about what scholarships or bursaries they may have available.

What is Global Affairs Canada’s involvement in this campaign?

Global Affairs Canada is responsible for supporting the international education sector through the promotion and branding of Canada (EduCanada) as a leading destination for international students and researchers. Global Affairs Canada is working in conjunction with the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency, the four Atlantic Provinces, and the Association of Atlantic Universities to help attract international students to the Atlantic region in order to develop a skilled workforce to advance inclusive economic growth in Atlantic Canada. Global Affairs Canada will not be collecting any personal information from you. The Department may use Google web analytics for statistical purposes only.

Submission of your email address is voluntary and constitutes your consent to the collection, use, storage, and disclosure of your email address to the universities in the Atlantic region. Your email address will be used for statistical purposes and provided to Canadian educational institutions to further communicate with you.

How was I identified for this campaign?

Through Facebook analytics, your profile has been identified as someone that may potentially be interested in pursuing undergraduate or graduate studies in areas related to STEM; science, engineering, technology, and math. Global Affairs Canada is not targeting you directly. Facebook Ads allow businesses and organizations to connect with the people who are most likely to be interested in their products and services. Google works hard to make sure their ads are as relevant as possible.

How do I stop receiving these types of ads?

Users who choose to interact with us via the Internet and social media can learn more about the terms of service and privacy policies of these third-party service providers and those of any applications used to access them. For more information please see Facebook Data policy and Google Privacy Policy

How will the information provided on the form be used and by whom?

The information you provide on the form will only be used by the Atlantic Canada universities participating in this campaign. They may choose to follow up with you in order to provide you with further guidance and answer any further questions you may have about studying at their institutions.

Links to other websites and ads

From time to time Global Affairs Canada may post or display links or ads for websites that are not under the control of Global Affairs Canada or the Government of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience of the users. Neither Global Affairs Canada nor the Government of Canada is responsible for the accuracy, currency or reliability of the content on these sites. Global Affairs Canada does not offer any guarantee in that regard and is not responsible for the information found through these links or ads, nor does it endorse the sites, businesses/products/services and/or their content.

Users should also note that information offered by non-Government of Canada websites that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and to which Global Affairs Canada links, may be available only in the language(s) used by the sites in question.

ÉduCanada et les STIM en atlantique

Foire aux questions

Faire le saut pour étudier dans le Canada atlantique est audacieux. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les questions fréquemment posées qui devraient vous aider à vous orienter.

Travailler et étudier

Puis-je travailler pendant mes études au Canada?

Il existe un certain nombre de possibilités de travail à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur du campus tout en étudiant au Canada. Apprenez-en davantage sur le travail et les études au Canada.

Y a-t-il des possibilités de rester et de travailler au Canada après l’obtention d’un diplôme?

De nombreuses possibilités s’offrent à vous à la fin de vos études au Canada. Apprenez-en davantage sur Travailler au Canada après l’obtention d’un diplôme.

Puis-je obtenir un placement dans un programme coopératif ou comme stagiaire?

De nombreuses universités de l’Atlantique offrent des expériences de travail et de recherche liées aux STIM au moyen de leurs programmes coopératifs. Les programmes de travail coopératif ont pour objectif d’offrir une expérience de travail réelle en plus des connaissances académiques. Pour en savoir plus sur les possibilités de stages et de travail coopératif, consultez la page Websur les Programmes de stages et de travail coopératif d’ÉduCanada ou consultez le site Web de l’établissement.

Demande et admission

Comment les établissements canadiens postsecondaires reconnaissent-ils les barèmes de notation internationaux?

Dans le cadre du processus d’admission, l’établissement évaluera vos diplômes d’études. Ce faisant, il effectuera ce qui suit :

  • Vérifier l’authenticité de vos documents.
  • Les comparer aux diplômes similaires délivrés dans les provinces et les territoires du Canada.
  • Accorder (s’il y a lieu) des transferts de crédits.

Chaque établissement a toute l’autorité pour reconnaître ou non les diplômes d’études aux fins d’admission. Consultez le site Web de l’établissement que vous avez choisi pour en savoir plus sur les conditions qu’il impose. Pour en savoir plus sur la reconnaissance des titres de compétence, allez à la section Présenter une demande pour étudier au Canada du Centre d’information canadien sur les diplômes internationaux.

Quels sont les frais d’inscription pour les étudiants non canadiens?

Les frais d’inscription varient selon l’établissement et la province. Apprenez-en davantage sur le coût des études au Canada ou communiquez directement avec l’établissement d’enseignement.

Comment puis-je obtenir une bourse pour étudier au Canada?

Vous trouverez des renseignements sur les bourses d’études et les subventions de recherche pour les étudiants internationaux sur le site Web des Possibilités de bourses d’études internationales pour les étrangers. Plusieurs bourses d’études sont disponibles pour les étudiants internationaux.

Communiquez avec le ou les établissements qui vous intéressent pour en savoir plus sur les bourses d’études ou de perfectionnement qu’ils offrent.

Quelle est la participation d’Affaires mondiales Canada dans cette campagne?

Affaires mondiales Canada appuie le secteur de l’éducation internationale en faisant la promotion du Canada (ÉduCanada) comme principale destination pour les étudiants et chercheurs internationaux. Affaires mondiales Canada travaille de concert avec l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique, les quatre provinces et l’Association des universités de l’Atlantique pour attirer des étudiants internationaux dans la région de l’Atlantique afin de former une main-d’œuvre qualifiée et de faire progresser la croissance économie inclusive dans le Canada atlantique. Affaires mondiales Canada ne recueillera aucun renseignement personnel. Le Ministère peut utiliser les analyses Web de Google à des fins statistiques seulement.

La soumission de votre adresse de courriel est volontaire et constitue votre consentement pour la collecte, l’utilisation, l’entreposage et la divulgation de votre adresse de courriel aux universités de la région de l’Atlantique. Votre adresse de courriel servira à des fins statistiques et elle sera fournie aux établissements d’enseignement du Canada afin d’améliorer la communication avec vous.

Comment ai-je été identifié pour cette campagne?

Au moyen des analyses de Facebook, votre profil a été désigné comme personne potentiellement intéressée à poursuivre un programme universitaire de premier ou de deuxième cycle dans les domaines des STIM (sciences, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques). Affaires mondiales Canada ne vous cible pas particulièrement. Les publicités de Facebook permettent aux entreprises et aux organisations de se relier aux personnes qui sont les plus susceptibles d’être intéressées par leurs produits et services. Google s’efforce de veiller à ce que ses publicités soient aussi pertinentes que possible.

Comment puis-je cesser de recevoir ces types de publicité?

Les utilisateurs qui décident d’interagir avec nous par l’entremise d’Internet et des médias sociaux doivent connaître davantage les conditions de service et les politiques de confidentialité de ces tiers fournisseurs de services et des applications utilisées pour y avoir accès. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter la Politique d’utilisation des données de Facebook et la Politique de confidentialité de Google.

Comment et par qui les renseignements sur le formulaire seront-ils utilisés?

Les renseignements que vous fournissez sur le formulaire serviront uniquement aux universités du Canada atlantique qui participent à cette campagne. Elles peuvent choisir d’effectuer un suivi auprès de vous afin de vous fournir plus de renseignements et de répondre à toute autre question que vous pourriez avoir concernant les études dans leurs établissements.

Liens vers d’autres sites Web et annonces

De temps à autre, Affaires mondiales Canada peut afficher ou présenter des liens ou des publicités pour des sites Web qui ne sont pas exploités par Affaires mondiales Canada ou le gouvernement du Canada. Ces liens sont uniquement fournis pour accommoder les utilisateurs. Ni Affaires mondiales Canada ni le gouvernement du Canada ne sont responsables de l’exactitude, de l’à-propos ou de la fiabilité du contenu de ces sites. Affaires mondiales Canada n’offre aucune garantie à cet égard et n’est pas responsable des renseignements contenus dans ces liens ou ces publicités, pas plus qu’il ne cautionne les sites, les entreprises, les produits, les services ou leur contenu.

Les utilisateurs doivent prendre note que certains liens du site Internet mènent vers des éléments d’information provenant de sources qui ne relèvent pas du gouvernement du Canada. Ils ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et ne peuvent être consultés que dans la langue utilisée dans ces sites auxquels Affaires mondiales Canada établit des liens.