Testimonial: Andres Montaño

Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program Awardee (2015-2016) and Collaboration Mission Delegate (2020)

Mount Royal University (International Business, BSc)

Andres MontañoI am very grateful to have had the opportunity to study in Canada in 2015 through the Emerging Leaders in the Americas (ELAP) exchange program. I attended international business courses for one semester at Mount Royal University (MRU) — one of the most prestigious universities in Calgary, Alberta. While at MRU, I learned about the Canadian education system and culture, and I had fun exploring what the city had to offer.

Studying in Canada was a very rewarding experience for me because I was not only able to study in a new country, but I was also able to form long-lasting relationships with people from around the world.

My involvement with the International Student Centre led me to become part of the Student Ambassador for International Students (SAIS Program). As an international student ambassador, I helped Canadians with the process of internationalization, I offered peer-to-peer support, and I was able to share the experiences I had as an exchange student.

As an active member in the student community, I grew close with my fellow exchange students. I also joined the Recreation Centre staff, which further enriched my experience as a student.

The experiences I had in Canada were some of the best I have had in my life so far. These experiences have helped to shape my professional trajectory and deepened my interest in International Relations and cooperation projects.

Currently, I work in the department of internationalization for a local government training institution called Servicio Nacional de Aprendizaje (SENA). At SENA, I have developed international education projects and established partnerships with foreign institutions from many parts of the world, including Canada. In November of 2020, I took part in the ELAP Collaboration Mission on behalf of my institution (SENA). At the conference, I was able to connect with Canadian institutions and further explore education opportunities for Colombians abroad.

I am grateful to everyone who helped me achieve this goal. I highly recommend pursuing international studies and research in Canada through the ELAP Program to my fellow Latin American students. It is a life-changing experience!

Related content

Témoignage : Andres Montaño

Boursier du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2015-2016) et délégué de la Mission de collaboration (2020)

Université Mount Royal (Baccalauréat en commerce international)

Andres Montaño

Je suis infiniment reconnaissant d’avoir eu l’occasion d’étudier au Canada en 2015, grâce au Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA). Durant un trimestre, j’ai suivi des cours en commerce international à l’Université Mount Royal (UMR), l’une des universités les plus prestigieuses à Calgary, en Alberta. Durant mon séjour à l’UMR j’ai découvert la culture et le système d’éducation canadiens, et j’ai pris plaisir à explorer ce que la ville avait à offrir.

Étudier au Canada a été pour moi une expérience très enrichissante, car non seulement j’ai eu l’occasion d’étudier dans un nouveau pays, mais j’ai également pu nouer des relations durables avec des personnes de tous les coins du monde.

Mon engagement auprès du centre des étudiants internationaux m’a permis de prendre part au programme « Student Ambassador for International Students (SAIS) ». En tant qu’ambassadeur, j’ai aidé des Canadiens à préparer leurs études à l’étranger, j’ai offert du soutien entre pairs et j’ai été en mesure de raconter mes expériences d’étudiant participant à un programme d’échange.

Comme membre actif dans la communauté étudiante, je me suis lié d’amitié avec les autres étudiants étrangers. J’ai aussi fait partie du personnel du complexe sportif, ce qui a contribué à enrichir davantage mon expérience comme étudiant.

Les expériences que j'ai vécues au Canada sont parmi les meilleures que j'ai eues dans ma vie jusqu'à présent. Elles ont contribué à façonner mon parcours professionnel et à accroître mon intérêt envers les relations internationales et les projets de coopération.

Actuellement, je travaille pour le service d’internationalisation à un établissement de formation gouvernemental local appelé Servicio Nacional de Aprendizaje (Service national d’apprentissage – SENA). Au SENA, j’ai mis sur pied des projets d’éducation internationale et établi des partenariats avec des établissements étrangers de plusieurs régions du monde, y compris le Canada. En novembre 2020, j’ai participé à une Mission de collaboration du PFLA au nom de mon établissement (SENA). Au congrès, j’ai eu la possibilité d’établir des liens avec des établissements canadiens et d’explorer plus amplement les occasions d’éducation à l’étranger pour les Colombiens.

Je remercie toutes les personnes qui m’ont aidé à atteindre cet objectif. Je recommande vivement aux autres étudiants d’Amérique latine d’effectuer des études internationales et des recherches au Canada par l’entremise du programme PFLA. Cette expérience peut changer votre vie!

Contenu connexe