Testimonial: Anuschka Tjin Liep Shie from Suriname

Emerging Leaders of the Americas Program (ELAP) Awardee (2016)

College of New Caledonia (Social Sciences, BA)

Anuschka Tjin Liep Shie I undertook an exchange program at the College of New Caledonia (CNC) in Prince George, British Columbia, in the fall of 2016, under the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP). I had always been interested in Psychology and was impressed by the courses that the college offered in this field. I also knew that I wanted to study in Canada because of its high academic standards.

During my exchange, I was pleased with the small class sizes at the college. The professors were incredible and approachable. At the beginning, it was a challenge to study in a new language because I am from the Dutch-speaking country Suriname but I was able to adapt quickly. I successfully passed all my midterms and final exams. I also loved to interact with the diverse student population during my courses.

I lived at the student residence on campus, where I had the opportunity to meet students from different parts of the world and where I felt safe. I joined the CNC Hiking Club and experienced snow for the first time in my life. It was amazing. Also, I went to my first hockey game at CN Centre in Prince George. I was one of the students from CNC who held the Canadian flag before the game started. This was a wonderful experience for me. It was the first time that I heard the national anthem ‟O Canada” live.

I am so grateful that I was able to experience a different environment and that I met wonderful people and made friends from across the world. For the first time in my life, I lived on my own and learned more about myself. Because of this experience, I am well equipped to pursue other study abroad opportunities. I learned to be brave, independent and to take care of myself. I am very fortunate to have completed an ELAP exchange in Canada on both a personal and academic level.

Related content

Témoignage : Anuschka Tjin Liep Shie, du Suriname

Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2016)

College of New Caledonia (sciences sociales, B.A.)

Anuschka Tjin Liep Shie J’ai participé à un programme d’échange au College of New Caledonia (CNC) de Prince George, Colombie-Britannique, en automne 2016, dans le cadre du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA). La psychologie m’a toujours intéressée et j’étais impressionnée par les cours que le collège proposait dans ce domaine. Je savais aussi que je voulais faire des études au Canada à cause des normes académiques de ce pays.

Pendant mon échange, j’ai été contente de la taille des classes du collège. Les professeurs étaient incroyables et très abordables. Au début, c’était difficile de faire des études dans une nouvelle langue, puisque je viens du Suriname, un pays où le néerlandais est la principale langue, mais j’ai pu m’adapter rapidement. J’ai réussi tous mes examens de mi-session et finaux. J’ai aussi beaucoup aimé interagir avec la population estudiantine diversifiée pendant mes cours.

Je vivais en résidence étudiante sur le campus, où j’ai eu l’occasion de rencontrer des étudiants venant de différentes parties du monde et où je me sentais en sécurité. J’ai fait partie du club de randonnée du collège et ai vu la neige pour la première fois de ma vie. Je suis aussi allée à mon tout premier match de hockey au CN Centre de Prince George. J’ai fait partie des étudiants de CNC qui ont tenu le drapeau canadien avant que le match ne commence. C’était une expérience extraordinaire pour moi et la première fois que j’entendais l’hymne national, « Ô Canada » en direct.

Je suis tellement heureuse d’avoir pu faire l’expérience d’un milieu aussi différent, d’avoir rencontré des personnes merveilleuses et de m’être fait des amis du monde entier. Pour la première fois de ma vie, j’ai vécu seule et ai beaucoup appris sur moi-même. C’est grâce à cette expérience que je me sens bien préparée pour poursuivre d’autres études à l’étranger. J’ai appris à être courageuse, indépendante et à m’occuper de moi. J’ai beaucoup de chance d’avoir pu faire un échange PFLA au Canada sur le plan académique mais aussi sur le plan personnel.

Contenu connexe