Testimonial: Eva Liliana López

Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program Awardee (2019-2020)

University of Saskatchewan (Nutrition Sciences, BSc)

Eva Liliana López I am so pleased that the Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program (ELAP) selected me for a research exchange between the University of Saskatchewan and my home University of San Carlos de Guatemala.

My exchange experience has been excellent. The University of Saskatchewan has afforded me opportunities to learn about life and culture in the Canadian prairies as well as new methods in nutrition that will help me to work with food insecure people in Guatemala. The advanced facilities at the University of Saskatchewan gave me access to new training, tools and technologies to improve my skills, including English communication.

My home country is considered one of the most dangerous in which to be a woman. In Canada, I felt safe both on and off-campus; I now understand how a non-threatening environment improves my sense of well-being and gives me space for creative thinking.  Because I live in the student residence, I enjoy the opportunity to walk everywhere on campus and appreciate the weather changing with the seasons. At the end of my day, I get to socialize with my student neighbours. This added sense of community has been a beautiful experience.

The university’s International Student Centre was instrumental for me. The Centre provided activities that helped me learn about local culture and helped me feel part of both the country and the university itself. The support they offered accommodated my needs and helped to solve some problems that I had.  

I have grown personally from the chance to travel to another country alone and to live independently while conducting my research. I have met people from all over the world and have made many new friends. This unforgettable experience would not have been possible for me without ELAP. Thank you to everyone who helped me along the way!

Related content

Témoignage : Eva Liliana López

Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2019-2020)

University of Saskatchewan (Sciences alimentaires et nutrition, B.Sc.)

Eva Liliana López Je suis très heureuse que le programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (PFLA) m’ait choisie pour un programme d’échange de recherche entre la University of Saskatchewan et mon université au Guatemala, la University of San Carlos.

Mon expérience d’échange a été excellente. La University of Saskatchewan m’a donné l’opportunité d’en savoir plus sur la vie et la culture dans les prairies canadiennes, ainsi que de nouvelles méthodes de nutrition qui m’aideront à travailler avec des personnes souffrant d’insécurité alimentaire au Guatemala. Les locaux à la fine pointe de la technologie de l’ University of Saskatchewan m’ont donné accès à de nouveaux outils, de nouvelles technologies et de nouvelles formations pour renforcer mes compétences, y compris mon niveau d’anglais.

Mon pays est considéré comme l’un des plus dangereux pour les femmes. Au Canada, je me suis sentie en sécurité, sur le campus et hors campus. Je comprends maintenant comment un environnement non-menaçant améliore mon sentiment de bien-être et me donne l’espace d’être créative. Puisque je vis en résidence étudiante, j’ai l’opportunité de me rendre partout sur le campus à pied et j’apprécie que le temps change avec les saisons. À la fin de la journée, j’ai l’occasion de socialiser avec mes voisins étudiants. Ce sentiment supplémentaire de communauté a été une belle expérience.

Le centre des étudiants internationaux à l’Université a été central pour moi. Il fournit des activités qui m’ont aidée à découvrir la culture locale et m’ont aidée à me faire sentir que je fais partie du pays et de l’Université. Le soutien qu’il a apporté correspondait à mes besoins et m’ont aidée à résoudre des problèmes que j’ai eus.

J’ai grandi sur le plan personnel grâce à la chance de voyager seule dans un autre pays et de vivre seule tout en faisant mes recherches. J’ai rencontré des personnes de partout dans le monde et me suis fait de nombreux nouveaux amis. Cette expérience inoubliable aurait été impossible pour moi sans le PFLA. Merci à toutes les personnes qui m’ont aidé tout au long de cette expérience!

Contenu connexe