Testimonial: Dr. Hiran Roy

Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – New Zealand Awardee (2013-2016)

University of Canterbury (Management, PhD)

Dr. Hiran Roy

It was always my dream to pursue my PhD research program in another country and to experience a different culture. Being a recipient of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – New Zealand from 2013 to 2016 was an excellent opportunity to realize that dream. The CSFP – New Zealand not only allowed me to experience a different culture, it also provided me with the necessary resources to undertake high quality doctoral research.

I completed a PhD in management at the University of Canterbury, in Christchurch. I am passionate about the commercial aspect of the food and hospitality industry and was able to undertake research that explored the use of local food in restaurants across two countries – Canada and New Zealand. My thesis particularly examined the relationships involved in the procurement of food ingredients from local sources and how these shape menu offerings.

Overall, studying at the University of Canterbury was a fabulous opportunity for me because of its world renowned reputation and its academic excellence in both teaching and research. Having this experience is an asset for my future teaching and research objectives. Additionally, at the University of Canterbury, I noticed that every student enjoyed a supportive and personalized learning environment and that the international students were always well looked after.

Lastly, I witnessed the hospitality of New Zealanders and their interest in other cultures. The country is very safe and this is particularly valued by the international students. The country is an excellent destination for adventure seekers as it offers an array of thrilling activities that are easily affordable and accessible.

Related content

Témoignage : Dr Hiran Roy

Boursier du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – Nouvelle-Zélande (2013-2016)

University of Canterbury (administration, Ph. D.)

Dr Hiran Roy

J’ai toujours rêvé de poursuivre mon programme de recherche de doctorat dans un pays étranger et de faire l’expérience d’une autre culture. Recevoir la bourse du Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) – Nouvelle-Zélande de 2013 à 2016 a été une excellente occasion de concrétiser ce rêve. Le CSFP – Nouvelle-Zélande m’a permis de faire l’expérience d’une autre culture et m’a aussi donné les ressources nécessaires pour entreprendre des recherches doctorales de grande qualité.

J’ai fait un doctorat en administration à la University of Canterbury, à Christchurch. Je me passionne pour l’aspect commercial de l’industrie alimentaire et hospitalière et ai pu entreprendre des recherches explorant la consommation d’aliments locaux dans les restaurants des deux pays : le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande. Ma thèse s’intéressait notamment aux relations intervenant dans l’acquisition d’ingrédients alimentaires de sources locales et comment elles influencent le menu.

Globalement, faire des études à la University of Canterbury a été une merveilleuse occasion pour moi grâce à sa réputation mondiale et à son excellence académique en enseignement et en recherche. Avoir cette expérience est un atout pour mes objectifs d’avenir d’enseignement et de recherche. En outre, à la University of Canterbury, j’ai remarqué que tous les étudiants bénéficiaient d’un milieu d’apprentissage personnalisé et d’accompagnement et qu’on s’occupait très bien des étudiants internationaux.

Enfin, j’ai été témoin de l’hospitalité des Néo-Zélandais et de leur intérêt envers les cultures étrangères. On est en sécurité dans ce pays, un élément que les étudiants internationaux apprécient beaucoup. Ce pays est une excellente destination pour quiconque veut de l’aventure puisqu’il offre tout un éventail d’activités à sensations fortes qui sont très abordables et accessibles.

Contenu connexe