Testimonial: Lalia Katchelewa from Canada

Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program Awardee (2018-2019)

Tsinghua University (Chinese Language Studies)

Lalia Katchelewa

As part of the Canada-China Scholars' Exchange Program (CCSEP), I studied Chinese language and literature for a year at Tsinghua University in Beijing. Everything went beyond my expectations: the faculty members, the campus and even the activities. The rigorous academic environment in Tsinghua allowed me to make fast progress and to intellectually grow through the conferences organized by the University and through their academic network which extends across much of the world.

I had previously been to China, so my expectations regarding my life in the Chinese capital were realistic. Now that I have spent a year in Beijing, my understanding of the Chinese culture and customs have grown. What used to be foreign to me when I landed became familiar and accessible. Learning the language obviously made it much easier to establish rapport with what the Chinese call “Beijing ren” (北京人).

Despite some administrative and bureaucratic challenges while I was there, I have very positive memories of this experience. This year was an incredible growth opportunity, both on a personal and professional level. I made some local contacts, and I was able to discover other international students who shared similar interests. From Venezuela to the Philippines, Thailand, Spain and Germany, my exchange allowed me to build a solid professional network that will definitely be very useful to me in my career.

The year I spent in Beijing solidified my desire to continue my studies in international relations and economics. I am looking forward to going back to China to leverage my experience and to keep on creating bridges between Canada and China.

Related content

Témoignage : Lalia Katchelewa from Canada

Boursière du Programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine (2018-2019)

Tsinghua University (études linguistiques en chinois)

Lalia Katchelewa

Dans le cadre du programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine (CCSEP), j’ai étudié pendant un an la langue et la littérature chinoise à l’université Tsinghua de Pékin. Les enseignants, le campus et les activités ont dépassé mes attentes. L’environnement académique rigoureux de Tsinghua m’a permis de progresser rapidement et de m’enrichir intellectuellement; que ce soit par les conférences organisées par l’université ou par le réseau académique de Tsinghua qui s’étend sur une majeure partie du globe.

Ayant déjà été en Chine par le passé, j’avais des attentes réalistes par rapport à ma vie dans la capitale chinoise. Cependant, après avoir passé un an à Pékin j’ai une compréhension beaucoup plus grande des moeurs et de la culture chinoise. Ce qui était pour moi étranger et lointain à mon arrivée en Chine est devenu familier et accessible. L’apprentissage de la langue a évidemment grandement facilité l’établissement d’un contact avec ceux que les Chinois appellent les Beijing ren (北京人).

Malgré quelques difficultés administratives et bureaucratiques au cours de mon séjour, je garde un souvenir très positif de mon expérience. Cette année a été pour moi une opportunité de croissance incroyable tant sur le plan personnel que professionnel. J’ai créé des contacts locaux, mais j’ai aussi pu apprendre à connaître d’autres étudiants étrangers qui partagent les mêmes intérêts que moi. Du Venezuela aux Philippines, en passant par la Thaïlande, l’Espagne et l’Allemagne, mon échange m’a permis de créer un réseau professionnel solide qui me sera certainement de grande utilité au cours de ma carrière.

Mon année à Pékin a solidifié mon désir de poursuivre mes études en relations internationales et en économie. J’ai hâte de retourner en Chine pour mettre mon expérience à profit et pour continuer à créer des ponts entre le Canada et la Chine.

Contenu connexe