Testimonial: Laura Beltina Leon

Emerging Leaders in the Americas Program Awardee (2019-2020)

University of Manitoba (Molecular Biology, PhD)

Laura Beltina LeonHaving been awarded an ELAP scholarship is one of the best opportunities I have ever had. The scholarship allowed me to perform research in the Department of Microbiology at the University of Manitoba where I am acquiring new laboratory skills and cutting-edge knowledge in my field.

Before arriving in Canada, I had high expectations about what day-to-day life would be like. Indeed, my experience has been even better than I imagined. Everybody in and out of the university has been very friendly and willing to help me. The people in my department, the professor, and my laboratory colleagues deserve a special mention. They have warmly welcomed me and integrated me into the group in a natural way that makes me feel right at home. They have helped me realize my own abilities, taught me new techniques with great dedication, and allowed me to develop my project independently. The exchange of ideas and debates have been wonderful!

The cultural diversity in Canada caught my attention right away. I loved that I could learn something new about another country every day just by having lunch with my lab mates. I realized that engaging and connecting with people from different backgrounds nourished me and made me a better person.  

I am very grateful for this experience, which has given me new professional skills, opened my mind, and expanded my future by exposing me to world-class science. To anyone who wants to improve their CV and grow as a person, I highly recommend becoming an ELAP scholar!

Related content

Témoignage: Laura Beltina Leon

Boursière du Programme des futurs leaders dans les Amériques (2019-2020)

Université du Manitoba (Biologie moléculaire, Ph.D.)

Laura Beltina LeonLa bourse du PFLA que j’ai reçue est l’une des meilleures opportunités que j’ai jamais eues. Cette bourse m’a permis de faire des recherches dans le département de microbiologie de la University of Manitoba, où j’apprends de nouvelles compétences de laboratoires et des connaissances de pointe dans mon domaine.

Avant mon arrivée au Canada, j’avais de grandes attentes sur ce à quoi ma vie de tous les jours ressemblerait. Au lieu de cela, mon expérience a été meilleure que ce que j’imaginais. Tout le monde, à l’Université et hors de l’Université, a été très gentil et prêt à m’aider. Les personnes de mon département, mon professeur et mes collègues de laboratoire méritent une mention spéciale. Ils m’ont accueilli chaleureusement et m’ont intégré au groupe de façon naturelle ce qui m’a fait me sentir très à l’aise. Ils m’ont aidée à me rendre compte de mes capacités, m’ont appris plusieurs nouvelles techniques avec engouement, et m’ont permis de développer mon projet par moi-même. L’échange d’idées et nos débats ont été merveilleux!

La diversité culturelle au Canada a attiré mon attention dès le début. J’aime beaucoup pouvoir apprendre quelque chose de nouveau sur un autre pays tous les jours, tout simplement en mangeant avec mes collègues du labo. Je me suis rendu compte que le fait d’interagir avec des personnes ayant différents bagages m’enrichit et fait de moi quelqu’un de meilleur.

Je suis très reconnaissante de cette expérience, qui m’a donné de nouvelles compétences professionnelles, m’a ouvert l’esprit et a enrichi mon avenir en m’exposant à des sciences de classe mondiale. Je recommande fortement de devenir boursier-ières du PFLA à quiconque voudrait améliorer son C.V. et se développer personnellement!

Contenu connexe