Testimonial: Nattharuedee Phromnawet from Thailand

Canada-ASEAN Scholarships and Educational Exchanges for Development Awardee (2018-2019)

University of Victoria (Law and Legal Studies, B.A.)

Nattharuedee Phromnawet

I am eternally grateful for being selected as a Canada-ASEAN Scholarships and Educational Exchanges for Development (SEED) recipient. I am thankful that this scholarship provides such a valuable opportunity for students in developing countries, like myself, to pursue higher education in Canada’s world-class educational system.

I am currently an exchange student in the Faculty of Law at the University of Victoria for the 2018-2019 academic year. The Faculty of Law at the University of Victoria delivers outstanding academic programs, combined with numerous hands-on learning opportunities outside the classroom. As a law student, I attend lots of lectures and seminars that allow me to explore a diversity of legal perspectives and ethical views. It is very enlightening to discuss and witness social issues outside of my realm of familiarity. I am deeply impressed by the commitment of the University of Victoria and the Canadian educational system in general which collectively work to encourage community engagement, support community development, and improve the quality of people’s lives and natural resources, both throughout Canada and other regions in the world. During my time at the university, I sometimes faced difficulties, such as learning in English (my second language) and adjusting to Western culture and society; however, the people I have met at the university are very caring and supportive, and have helped me throughout the program.

Canada is well-known for its stunning natural attractions and outdoor activities, and I have taken advantage of opportunities to explore the many beautiful places on Vancouver Island and elsewhere in Western Canada. Living in Canada gives me a true appreciation for the natural world as it is a part of our lives every day. Moreover, I enjoy living in the multicultural community where I am respected and can, in turn, respectfully learn from the different cultures I encounter.

This experience has inspired me to become more selfless and to help other people. I hope that, one day, I will be able to give back to my own community as well as to the global community at large. I am confident that when I look back at this experience, I will consider it one of the greatest opportunities in my life that taught me to grow professionally and personally. I hope the Canadian government will continue to support scholarship and educational exchange programs like SEED so others can be granted the same opportunity I was so fortunate to have.

Related content

Témoignage : Nattharuedee Phromnawet de la Thaïlande

Boursière de l’initiative Bourses et programmes d’échanges éducationnels pour le développement Canada-ANASE (2018-2019)

Université de Victoria (Droit et études juridiques, B.A.)

Nattharuedee Phromnawet

Je serai toujours reconnaissante d’avoir été choisie comme récipiendaire d’une bourse d’études de l’initiative Bourses et programmes d’échanges éducationnels pour le développement Canada-ANASE. Je me réjouis du fait que cette bourse offre à des étudiants des pays en développement, comme moi, une occasion aussi précieuse de faire des études supérieures dans un système d’éducation de renommée mondiale comme celui du Canada.

Je participe actuellement à un programme d’échanges d’étudiants dans le cadre duquel j’étudie à la faculté de droit de l’Université de Victoria pour l’année universitaire 2018-2019. La faculté de droit de l’Université de Victoria offre des programmes universitaires exceptionnels ainsi que de nombreuses possibilités d’apprentissage pratique à l’extérieur des salles de classe. En tant qu’étudiante en droit, j’assiste souvent à des conférences et à des séminaires qui me permettent d’explorer un grand nombre de perspectives juridiques et de points de vue éthiques. J’estime qu’il est très instructif de pouvoir discuter et être témoin d’enjeux sociaux qui dépassent mes connaissances. Je suis vivement impressionnée par l’engagement de l’Université de Victoria et du système d’éducation canadien en général, qui travaillent de pair pour encourager et appuyer l’engagement communautaire, et améliorer la qualité de vie des gens et les ressources naturelles, tant au Canada qu’ailleurs dans le monde. Pendant mon séjour à l’université, j’ai notamment éprouvé des difficultés à apprendre l’anglais (ma langue seconde) et à m’adapter à la culture et à la société occidentales; cependant, les gens que j’y ai rencontrés sont très attentionnés et encourageants et m’ont aidé tout au long du programme.

Le Canada est reconnu pour ses attractions naturelles spectaculaires et ses activités de plein air, et j’ai profité de l’occasion pour visiter les nombreux endroits magnifiques de l’île de Vancouver et d’ailleurs dans l’Ouest canadien. La vie au Canada me fait vraiment apprécier la nature, car elle fait partie du quotidien. De plus, j’aime bien vivre dans une collectivité multiculturelle qui me respecte et dont je peux apprendre aussi dans le respect.

Cette expérience m’a inspirée à devenir plus altruiste – à aider les autres. J’espère qu’un jour, je pourrai redonner à ma collectivité et au monde entier. Je suis convaincue que lorsque je repenserai à cette expérience, je me dirai qu’elle fait partie de celles qui m’ont le mieux appris à grandir sur les plans professionnel et personnel. J’espère que le gouvernement canadien continuera à appuyer cette initiative et d’autres programmes de bourses afin que d’autres étudiants profitent de l’occasion en or qui m’a été donnée.

Contenu connexe