Testimonial: Zachary MacDonald from Canada

Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program Awardee (2017-2018)

East China Normal University (Wildlife Sciences)

Zachary MacDonald

On the northwest slope Tianmu Mountain (天目山; "Heavenly Eyes Mountain"), located 85 km west of Hangzhou, Zhejiang, lies one of China's best-known protected areas, Tianmu Mountain National Nature Reserve. A combination lush sub-tropical climate and considerable variation in altitude supports a notably high diversity of species. It is for this reason that the area was designated a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve in 1996, contributing to UNESCO’s Man and the Biosphere Program. As a recipient of the Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program’s senior research scholarship in 2018, I had the pleasure of travelling to this Reserve to investigate patterns of biodiversity along the slopes of Tianmu Mountain from February to July 2018.

My research visit to China was the first major collaboration between the lab in which I work, the Applied Conservation Lab at the University of Alberta, and Professor Zhang Jian’s lab, the Ecoinformatics Group at East China Normal University. Professor Zhang has a considerable history of research at the University of Alberta, where he completed both his PhD and a post-doctoral fellowship. While Professor Zhang is best known for his research on plant diversity, much of my own research has been devoted to the ecology and evolution of butterflies. As any ecologist will attest, butterflies and plants go together like peanut butter and jelly. And so it was, Professor Zhang and I were enthused to propose a study addressing relationships between butterfly and plant diversity along the slopes of Tianmu Mountain.

With illustrious designations as a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve and a nationally protected area, working in Tianmu Mountain National Nature Reserve was an overwhelming privilege. We quickly discovered that the diversity of butterflies within the Reserve totalled to more than 250. This is substantially greater than the total number of butterflies within my entire home province, Alberta, with 178 species. (It is worth noting that Alberta delineates an area approximately 55,000 times greater than the Reserve, indicative of its incredible biodiversity.) I will not soon forget laying eyes upon Tianmu Mountain’s incredible butterfly welcoming party for the first time. Dozens of butterfly species circled the mountain top, searching for mates, in a behaviour known as hill-topping. I get shivers writing about the experience even now, months later.

Over my five-month visit, we successfully established a long-term study that will contribute to our collective goal of documenting and understanding the complexity of Earth’s biodiversity. This would not have been possible without the Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program, Global Affairs Canada, and the China Scholarship Council, which collectively funded my research visit. The kindness I experienced during my visit was something I cannot easily put into words. The staff and students of Professor Zhang’s lab were incredibly gracious, and I look forward to watching this interesting work develop.

Related content

Témoignage : Zachary MacDonald du Canada

Boursier du Programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine (2017-2018)

East China Normal University (étude de la faune sauvage)

Zachary MacDonald

Sur la face nord-ouest du mont Tianmu (天目山; « la montagne aux yeux divins »), situé à 85 km à l’Ouest de Hangzhou, Zhejiang, se trouve l’une des régions protégées les plus connues de Chine : la réserve naturelle nationale de Tianmushan. Jouissant à la fois d’un climat à la végétation abondante et d’une variation considérable d’altitude, elle bénéficie d’une diversité remarquable d’espèces. C’est pour cette raison que la région a été désignée Réserve de biosphère par l’UNESCO en 1996, contribuant au programme sur l’Homme et la biosphère. À titre de lauréat de la bourse de recherche du programme de bourses Canada-Chine en 2018, j’ai eu le plaisir de me rendre à cette réserve pour étudier les modèles de diversité le long des pentes du mont Tianmu de février à juillet 2018.

Mon séjour de recherche en Chine représentait la première grande collaboration entre le laboratoire où je travaille, le laboratoire de conservation appliquée de la University of Alberta, et le laboratoire de M. Zhang, le groupe Écoinformatique de la East China Normal University. M. Zhang a une longue expérience de recherche à l’University of Alberta, où il a fait son doctorat et des recherches postdoctorales. M. Zhang est connu pour ses recherches sur la diversité végétale, mais mes recherches ont plutôt porté sur l’écologie et l’évolution des papillons. Comme tout écologiste peut en témoigner, les papillons et les plantes vont ensemble comme le beurre d’arachide et la confiture. C’est ainsi que M. Zhang et moi-même avons proposé une étude portant sur la relation entre la diversité des papillons et celle des plantes sur les pentes du mont Tianmu.

Avec des désignations bien connues comme réserve de biosphère de l’UNESCO et région nationale protégée, travailler avec la réserve nationale naturelle de Tianmushan était un privilège incroyable. Nous avons rapidement découvert que la diversité des papillons de la réserve dépassait les 250 espèces. Cela est bien plus élevé que le nombre total de papillons se trouvant dans toute ma province d’origine, l’Alberta, qui ne compte que 178 espèces (l’Alberta étant géographiquement 55 000 fois plus grande que la réserve, ce chiffre est très indicateur de la biodiversité incroyable de la réserve). Je n’oublierai pas de sitôt le spectacle incroyable que nous ont réservé les papillons à notre arrivée. Des dizaines d’espèces de papillons tournant autour du sommet de la montagne, à la recherche de partenaire, dans un comportement connu en anglais sous le nom de « hill-topping ». J’ai des frissons rien que d’écrire ce paragraphe sur cette expérience, plusieurs mois après en avoir été témoin.

Pendant les cinq mois de mon séjour, nous avons réussi à établir une étude à long terme qui contribuera à notre objectif commun de documenter et de comprendre la complexité de la biodiversité de notre planète. Cela aurait été impossible sans le programme d’échange académique Canada-Chine, Affaires mondiales Canada et le China Scholarship Council, qui ont financé mon séjour de recherche. La gentillesse dont on m’a été témoin pendant mon séjour est difficile à coucher sur papier. Le personnel et les étudiants du laboratoire de M. Zhang étaient incroyablement courtois, et j’ai hâte de voir ce travail des plus intéressants se développer.

Contenu connexe