About Canada

Canada is a diverse and fascinating country. There’s so much to learn and love about Canada. This information will give you an overview of Canadian geography, population, language and politics.

Canadian geography

With a landmass of 9.1 million square kilometres, Canada is the second-largest country in the world. Canada is located in the top half of North America, and the country is bordered by three oceans: Pacific, Atlantic and Arctic. In fact, we have the longest coastline of any country. To our south, we share nearly 9,000 kilometres of land border with the United States. That’s the longest border in the world! Most Canadians live within a few hundred kilometres of the U.S. border.

Our country has some impressive geographic features, including vast mountain ranges and more than 2 million lakes. Would you believe we have just under 1 million square kilometers of fresh water? Pack your bathing suit and prepare to explore our beautiful rivers, lakes, streams and oceans.

Population of Canada

Canada’s population is around 36.7 million[1]. Approximately 80% of people live in cities and towns. We have so much space in Canada that our population density ratio is one of the lowest in the world. That translates to less than 4 persons per square kilometre!

Canada's largest cities include[2]:

  • Toronto: 6.3 million
  • Montreal: 4.1 million
  • Vancouver: 2.6 million
  • Calgary: 1.5 million
  • Edmonton: 1.4 million
  • Ottawa-Gatineau: 1.4 million

Canada is a multicultural and diverse country. Canadians represent 250 ethnic origins or ancestries. There are 20 million Canadians of European ancestry, 2 million with Indigenous ancestry and large numbers of Canadians who report being of Chinese, East Indian, Southeast Asian and other ancestries. Canada’s Indigenous population consists of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples[3].

Canadians practice many different religions, while some claim no religious affiliation. Our population includes people who adhere to Catholic, Protestant, Christian Orthodox, Jewish, Muslim, Buddhist, Hindu, Sikh and other faiths.

Learn more about Canadian culture.

Languages of Canada

Canada has 2 official languages: English and French. All federal government institutions and many businesses offer bilingual services.

Chinese dialects are the 3rd most common native language in Canada, followed by Panjabi (Punjabi), Spanish, Arabic and Tagalog. The most common Indigenous languages are Cree, Inuktitut and Innu.

Canadian political system

Canada has a democratic system of government. We are a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as our Head of State. In Canada, the Governor General carries out Her Majesty’s duties and is our de facto Head of State.

Canada’s capital city is Ottawa, Ontario. Our Parliament consists of the House of Commons with 338 elected members and the Senate, where 105 members are appointed. On average, Members of Parliament (MPs) are elected every 4 years. The Prime Minister, who is usually the leader of the party with the largest number of seats in the House of Commons, is Canada’s Head of Government. The Prime Minister appoints 20 to 30 ministers who make up the Cabinet. The Cabinet develops government policy and is responsible to the House of Commons.

Each of Canada’s 10 provinces and 3 territories has a legislature under the leadership of a premier. Provincial and territorial governments are responsible for education, health care, drivers’ licences, labour standards, social services and more.

Municipal and local governments also play an important role and are normally responsible for urban or regional planning, streets and roads, sanitation (such as garbage collection), snow removal, firefighting services, ambulance, emergency services, recreational facilities, public transportation as well as some local health and social services.


[1] Canada at a glance population, Statistics Canada, 2017.

[2] Population of census metropolitan areas, Statistics Canada, 2017.

[3] Ethnic and cultural origins of Canadians, Statistics Canada, 2017.

Au sujet du Canada

Le Canada est un pays diversifié et fascinant. Il y a tant de choses à apprendre et à aimer au Canada. Vous trouverez ici des renseignements sur la géographie, la population, les langues et les politiques canadiennes.

La géographie canadienne

Avec un territoire de 9,1 millions de kilomètres carrés, le Canada est le deuxième pays du monde en superficie. Le Canada se situe dans la moitié supérieure de l’Amérique du Nord. Il est bordé par trois océans : le Pacifique, l’Atlantique et l’Arctique. En fait, le littoral canadien est le plus long du monde. Au sud, nous avons une frontière de presque 9 000 kilomètres avec les États-Unis. C’est la plus longue frontière du monde! La plupart des Canadiens vivent à quelques centaines de kilomètres de la frontière américaine.

Nos caractéristiques géographiques sont impressionnantes, une vaste chaîne de montagnes et plus de 2 millions de lacs. Nous possédons un peu moins d’un million de kilomètres carrés d’eau douce! Incroyable n’est-ce pas? N’oubliez pas votre maillot de bain et soyez prêt à explorer nos magnifiques rivières, fleuves, lacs et océans.

La population du Canada

Le Canada compte 36,7 millions d’habitants[1]. Environ 80 % des gens vivent dans des villes et des villages. Notre territoire est si vaste que la densité de notre population est l’une des plus faibles au monde – c’est-à-dire moins de 4 personnes par kilomètre carré!

Les plus grandes villes du Canada[2] :

  • Toronto : 6,3 millions de personnes
  • Montréal : 4,1 millions de personnes
  • Vancouver : 2,6 millions de personnes
  • Calgary : 1,5 million de personnes
  • Edmonton : 1,4 million de personnes
  • Ottawa-Gatineau : 1,4 million de personnes

Le Canada est un pays diversifié et multiculturel. Notre population représente 250 origines ethniques ou ascendances. Vingt millions de Canadiens sont d’ascendance européenne, 2 millions d’ascendance autochtone et un grand nombre de Canadiens se disent, entre autres, d’ascendance chinoise, indienne de l’Inde et d’Asie du Sud-Est. La population autochtone du Canada est composée des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis[3].

Les Canadiens appartiennent à différentes confessions religieuses et certains se disent sans aucune appartenance religieuse. Notre population comprend notamment des gens de confession catholique, protestante, chrétienne orthodoxe, juive, musulmane, bouddhiste, hindoue et sikh.

Pour en savoir plus sur la culture canadienne.

Langues parlées au Canada

Le Canada a deux langues officielles : le français et l’anglais. Tous les organismes du gouvernement fédéral et de nombreuses entreprises offrent des services bilingues.

Après nos deux langues officielles, la langue la plus couramment parlée au Canada est le chinois (divers dialectes); viennent ensuite l'allemand, l'italien, le punjabi, l’espagnol, l’arabe et le tagalog. Le cri, l’inuktitut et l’innu sont les langues autochtones les plus courantes.

Le système politique canadien

Le Canada est un régime démocratique. Nous sommes une monarchie constitutionnelle avec, à la tête de l’État, la reine Elizabeth II. Au Canada, le gouverneur général est notre chef d’État de facto dans la mesure où il remplit les fonctions de Sa Majesté au pays.

La capitale du Canada est Ottawa, en Ontario. Notre Parlement comprend la Chambre des communes, où siègent 338 députés, et le Sénat, qui compte 105 membres nommés par le gouvernement. En moyenne, les députés sont élus tous les quatre ans. Le chef du gouvernement est le premier ministre. Ce dernier est généralement le chef du parti qui a remporté le plus grand nombre de sièges à la Chambre des Communes lors des élections. Le premier ministre nomme les 20 à 30 ministres qui composent son Cabinet. Le Cabinet adopte des politiques publiques et doit rendre des comptes à la Chambre des communes.

Chacun des 3 territoires et des 10 provinces du Canada a une assemblée législative dirigée par un premier ministre. L’éducation, le régime d’assurance maladie, les permis de conduire, les normes du travail, les services sociaux, et d’autres secteurs relèvent de chaque province et territoire.

Les gouvernements municipaux et locaux jouent également un rôle de premier plan. Ils sont normalement chargés de la planification urbaine et régionale, des réseaux routiers, des installations sanitaires (p. ex. la cueillette des ordures), du déneigement, des services de lutte contre les incendies, des services ambulanciers, des installations récréatives, du transport public et de certains services de santé et services sociaux locaux.


[1] Coup d'oeil sur le Canada - Population, Statistique Canada, 2017.

[2] Population des régions métropolitaines de recensement, Statistique Canada, 2017.

[3] Les origines ethniques et culturelles des Canadiens, Statistique Canada, 2017.