Coronavirus (COVID-19) information for international students

Global Affairs Canada’s International Education Division is pleased to provide the following information and guidance that may be of assistance to international students. The resources listed provide information on study permit-related issues, as well as travel restrictions and exemptions that may affect international students, and Government of Canada programs for which international students may be eligible.

Canada deeply values the international students that have chosen to study in Canada and the contribution they make to our educational institutions, our communities and our country. Although the current circumstances are challenging, we hope that you will feel supported by your Canadian host institutions and the communities in which you live, whether you may be a first-year student, a soon-to-be graduating student, an exchange student or visiting researcher.

Individuals are encouraged to read through all the information available on each government website listed and to consult these sites regularly for the latest information relevant to their situation.

For international students specifically

  • International students who remain in Canada can apply to renew their study permit, and can continue to study and work while their application renewal is being processed.
  • At this time, international students who held a valid study permit granted before or on March 18, 2020, will be able to travel to Canada.
  • If a study permit was issued to an international student after March 18, 2020, they are currently not allowed to travel to Canada.

Immigration status and related travel

  • Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has published detailed information on how the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) is affecting immigration, refugees, citizenship and passport services.
  • This includes specific information, questions and answers related to, among others:
  • Update 2020/07/15:IRCC has announced new temporary measures regarding legal status in Canada, study permits, and the Post-Graduation Work Permit Program.
    • As a result of the pandemic and its associated challenges, a new policy provides visa-holders with an extension to apply for restoration of status beyond the current 90-day timeframe for foreign nationals in Canada. Former workers, students and visitors whose status expired after January 30, 2020, and who remained in Canada now have until December 31, 2020, to apply to restore their status, provided they meet the requirements for the type of status and authorization they are applying to restore. More details can be found on IRCC’s website: Extension for temporary residents applying to restore their status.
    • A new 2-stage approval process WILL ALLOW students to start their programs online from their homes by first obtaining an approval-in-principle showing they have been accepted at a Canadian learning institution, and have the available funds and are eligible for the study permit and a final approval and issuance of the study permit once Visa Application Centres reopen and they are able to submit biometrics and other necessary documents.
    • IRCC is developing an “approval-in-principle” which does NOT guarantee that students will receive a full approval and be able to travel to Canada. It is still possible that an applicant could receive a negative final decision on their study permit based on factors such as inadmissibility for criminality or security reasons, and the inability to predict how the COVID-19 situation and any associated travel restrictions will evolve.
    • Students will also be allowed to count the time spent pursuing their studies online abroad toward their eligibility for a post-graduation work permit, if they have submitted a study permit application and if at least 50% of their program is completed in Canada. This process is available to students starting a program in the fall semester or earlier who submit a study permit application before September 15, 2020 and at least 50% of the program is completed in Canada. More details can be found in IRCC’s news release: Minister Mendicino announces changes to facilitate online learning for international students.

Eligibility for Government of Canada-funded benefits

  • The Government of Canada has introduced a range of measures and programs under its COVID-19 Economic Response Plan, including supports for those who have lost income due to COVID-19, as well as measures targeting youth, post-secondary students and recent graduates.
  • International students are invited to consult the Plan’s section on Support for individuals, to review measures for which they may be eligible. This could include the Canada Emergency Response Benefit, a removal of restrictions on hours worked for students working in essential services, and access for youth to mental health support, among others. Note that some student-focused measures in the plan may not be available to international students.

Employment Insurance and the Canada Emergency Response Benefit

Supporting international students working in an essential service

  • International students are temporarily allowed to work more than 20 hours if they are:
    • A study permit holder in an academic session
    • Eligible to work off-campus
    • Providing an essential service (e.g., health care, critical infrastructure, supply of food or other critical goods).
  • This temporary rule change will be in place until August 31, 2020.
  • To see if your work is considered an essential service or function, check the Guide on Essential Services and Functions in Canada During the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Information for Government of Canada-funded scholarship students

  • Global Affairs Canada (GAC) is in close contact with its scholarship program administrators to identify guidance and support required by scholarship recipients. Individuals with concerns should reach out to their host institutions in Canada as a first point of contact.
  • International students that are currently in Canada under one of the Student Exchange Programs, including the inbound portion of the Canada-China Scholars’ Exchange Program (CCSEP), have the option to return to their home countries and finish their studies online (if their school offers that option). There will be no penalties for doing so. If a student wishes to withdraw completely from the program, they will still receive a prorated amount of the scholarship. 
  • To stay up-to-date with the latest information on Government of Canada funded scholarships, please subscribe to the EduCanada RSS feed and visit our Facebook page @EduCanada.Official.

Health care, including mental health

  • The Government of Canada is giving $7.5 million in funding to Kids Help Phone, a 24/7, national support service, offering professional counselling, information and referrals to young people in both English and French. The service is completely confidential and provides much-needed mental health support to youth during this difficult time. You can reach out by phone, text or live chat or dial 1-800-668-6868 to speak with a Kids Help Phone counsellor at any time.
  • International students are encouraged to reach out to and remain in contact with their host institutions in Canada, in particular the international students’ office, and their health care coverage providers to receive information on measures and supports in place for international students at this time.
  • GAC is in regular contact with Canadian education associations, representing Canadian education institutions across the country, and it is our understanding that Canadian institutions are proactively providing psychological and mental health support related to the pandemic to their national and international students.
  • Students are also encouraged to consult regularly municipal and provincial/territorial public health resources for information on guidelines and supports that apply to their host communities.

Housing

  • International students living on campus are encouraged to reach out to and remain in contact with their Canadian host institutions, in particular the international students’ office, to receive information on housing services and supports in place for international students at this time.
  • Each institution makes its own decisions with regard to support and mitigation measures for their students.
  • GAC is in regular contact with Canadian education associations, representing Canadian education institutions across the country, and it is our understanding that the majority of Canadian education institutions are keeping their campus dormitories open for international students and Canadian students who may not have other accommodations. Where campus housing is no longer available, institutions are working closely with international students to help them find housing.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) – renseignements pour les étudiants internationaux

La Direction de l’éducation internationale d’Affaires mondiales Canada est heureuse de fournir les renseignements et les conseils suivants qui pourraient être utiles aux étudiants internationaux. Les ressources énumérées fournissent des renseignements sur les questions liées aux permis d’études, ainsi que sur les restrictions et les exemptions de voyage qui peuvent toucher les étudiants étrangers, et sur les programmes du gouvernement du Canada auxquels les étudiants internationaux peuvent être admissibles.

Le Canada apprécie profondément les étudiants internationaux qui ont choisi d’étudier au Canada et la contribution qu’ils apportent à nos établissements d’enseignement, à nos communautés et à notre pays. Bien que les circonstances actuelles soient difficiles, nous espérons que vous sentirez soutenu par vos établissements d’accueil canadiens et les communautés dans lesquelles vous vivez, que vous soyez un étudiant de première année, un futur diplômé, un étudiant d’échange ou un chercheur invité.

Nous encourageons les personnes à lire toutes les informations disponibles sur chaque site Web gouvernemental répertorié et à consulter régulièrement ces sites pour obtenir les dernières informations relatives à leur situation.

Pour les étudiants internationaux en particulier

  • Les étudiants internationaux qui restent au Canada peuvent demander le renouvellement de leur permis d’études et peuvent continuer à étudier et à travailler pendant le traitement de leur demande de renouvellement.
  • À l’heure actuelle, les étudiants internationaux qui détenaient un permis d’études valide approuvée le 18 mars 2020 ou avant cette date, pourront se rendre au Canada.
  • Si un permis d’études a été délivré à un étudiant international après le 18 mars 2020, il n’est actuellement pas autorisé à se rendre au Canada.

Statut d’immigration et voyages connexes

Admissibilité aux prestations financées par le gouvernement du Canada

  • Le gouvernement du Canada a instauré une série de mesures et de programmes dans le cadre de son Plan d’intervention économique du Canada pour répondre à la COVID-19. Ce dernier comprend des mesures de soutien pour ceux qui font face à une perte de revenu en raison de la COVID-19, ainsi que des mesures ciblant les jeunes, les étudiants du niveau postsecondaire et les récents diplômés.
  • Les étudiants internationaux sont invités à consulter la section du Plan portant sur le « Soutien aux particuliers », afin de se renseigner sur les mesures auxquelles ils peuvent être admissibles. Entre autres, cela pourrait inclure la Prestation canadienne d’urgence, la suppression des restrictions sur les heures travaillées pour les étudiants travaillant dans les services essentiels, et l’accès à un soutien en santé mentale. Veuillez noter que certaines mesures visant les étudiants peuvent ne pas être disponibles pour les étudiants internationaux.

L’Assurance-Emploi et la Prestation canadienne d’urgence

Soutien aux étudiants internationaux travaillant dans un service essentiel

  • Les étudiants internationaux sont temporairement autorisés à travailler plus de 20 heures si :
    • Ils sont titulaires d’un permis d’études en cours de session d’études; 
    • Ils sont autorisés à travailler hors campus; 
    • Ils fournissent un service essentiel (p. ex. domaine des soins de santé, de l’infrastructure critique ou de la fourniture des aliments ou d’autres besoins essentiels).
  • Ce changement de règle temporaire sera en vigueur jusqu’au 31 août 2020.
  • Pour déterminer si votre travail est considérez comme une fonction ou un service essentiel, consultez le Guide d’orientation sur les services et les fonctions essentielles au Canada pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19.

Informations à l’intention des étudiants titulaires de bourses financées par le gouvernement du Canada

  • Affaires mondiales Canada (AMC) entretient des liens étroits avec les administrateurs de ses programmes de bourses d’études afin de déterminer les directives et le soutien dont ont besoin les bénéficiaires de bourses. Les personnes ayant des préoccupations doivent d’abord s’adresser à leur établissement d’accueil au Canada.
  • Les étudiants internationaux qui se trouvent actuellement au Canada dans le cadre de l’un des programmes d’échange d’étudiants, y compris le volet d’accueil au Canada du Programme d’échanges académiques Canada-Chine (PEACC), ont la possibilité de retourner dans leur pays d’origine et de terminer leurs études en ligne (si leur établissement offre cette possibilité). Il n’y aura aucune pénalité pour ce faire. Si un étudiant souhaite se retirer complètement du programme, il recevra tout de même un montant proportionnel de la bourse. 
  • Pour rester au courant des renseignements les plus récents sur les bourses d’études financées par le gouvernement du Canada, veuillez vous abonner au Fil de nouvelles RSS d’ÉduCanada et consultez notre page Facebook @EduCanada.Officiel.

Soins de santé, y compris la santé mentale

  • Le gouvernement du Canada accorde un financement de 7,5 millions de dollars à Jeunesse, J’écoute, un service de soutien à l’échelle du pays qui est accessible 24/7. Ils offrent un service d’intervention professionnelle, d’information et de ressources, en français et en anglais. Le service est entièrement confidentiel et offre aux jeunes un soutien en matière de santé mentale dont ils ont grandement besoin pendant cette période difficile. Vous pouvez téléphoner, texter ou clavarder en ligne, ou encore composez le 1-800-668-6868 pour parler avec un intervenant de Jeunesse, J’écoute à tout moment.
  • Les étudiants internationaux sont encouragés à prendre contact et à rester en communication avec leurs établissements d’accueil au Canada, en particulier le bureau des étudiants internationaux, et leurs fournisseurs de soins de santé afin d’obtenir des informations sur les mesures et les aides en vigueur actuellement pour les étudiants internationaux.
  • AMC communique régulièrement avec les associations canadiennes du secteur de l’éducation, qui représentent des établissements d’enseignement canadiens dans tout le pays. Nous croyons comprendre que les établissements canadiens fournissent de manière proactive un soutien psychologique et de santé mentale lié à la pandémie à leurs étudiants nationaux et internationaux.
  • Nous encourageons également les étudiants à consulter régulièrement les ressources municipales, provinciales et territoriales en matière de santé publique pour obtenir des informations sur les directives et les mesures d’aide qui s’appliquent à leurs communautés d’accueil.

Logement

  • Les étudiants internationaux vivant sur le campus sont encouragés à prendre contact et à rester en communication avec leurs établissements d’accueil au Canada, en particulier le bureau des étudiants internationaux, afin d’obtenir des informations sur les services de logement et les mesures d’aide en place actuellement à l’intention des étudiants internationaux.
  • Chaque établissement prend ses propres décisions en ce qui concerne les mesures de soutien et d’atténuation qu’elles offrent pour aider ses étudiants.
  • AMC communique régulièrement avec les associations canadiennes du secteur de l’éducation, qui représentent des établissements d’enseignement canadiens dans tout le pays. Nous croyons comprendre que la majorité des établissements d’enseignement canadiens gardent leurs dortoirs sur les campus ouverts pour les étudiants internationaux et les étudiants canadiens qui n’ont pas d’autre logement. Dans les cas où les logements sur les campus ne sont plus disponibles, les établissements travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les étudiants internationaux pour les aider à trouver un logement.