Feeling at home in Canada

What steps can you take to feel at home in Canada? Each person adapts in their own way, but it helps to understand culture shock and how it may affect you. It’s also important to feel safe and connect with people around you. The people in your life and the experiences you share will shape your time in Canada.

In this section, find out about personal safety, dealing with homesickness and connecting with others.

Personal safety

Canada is one of the world’s most peaceful countries. It’s also one of the safest. The Global Peace Index, which is produced by the Institute for Economics and Peace, consistently ranks Canada as “very high” in terms of peace and security[1].

Still, it’s important that you follow the same safety precautions in Canada as you would anywhere in the world. Here are some tips to keep you safe:

Register with your embassy or consulate. We suggest you tell the embassy or consulate of your home country that you’re living in Canada. Registering with them provides a point of contact for Canadian authorities in case of an accident or emergency.

Know your surroundings and who you can ask for help. Colleges and universities have campus security to keep students safe. This may include patrol cars, 24-hour telephone lines and well-lit kiosks that are equipped with a hotline to the security office. In an emergency situation, call 911 to reach the police, fire department or ambulance.

Stay safe on campus. Trust your instincts and leave uncomfortable situations, such as being with a stranger in a lab at night. Some colleges and universities also offer an after-dark “walk home” service where qualified students will walk you home or to another location to keep you safe.

Stay safe at home. Meet and get to know your neighbours. When renting accommodation, always deal directly with your landlord and make payments to them. Ask for a receipt as proof of payment. Don’t let people into your building if you don’t know them. If you’re not expecting a repairman, delivery person or salesperson, tell them to go see your building manager. Keep your door locked, even when you are home.

Be street smart. Be cautious toward strangers, just as you would anywhere. Walk on well-lit, busy streets at night. If possible, travel with a friend and avoid isolated places, such as parks or alleys. Some parts of a city may have higher crime rates than others. Ask advice for the best way to get safely to your destination.

Understand alcohol and its impact. Not all students drink alcohol, but if you do, know your limits. Don’t put your drink down at a party or bar. Drugs can be put into your drink when you are not paying attention. Drinking and driving is a crime in Canada. People caught drinking and driving can lose their driver’s licence and potentially go to jail. Similarly, don’t get in a car with a person who has had too much alcohol (or consumed drugs).

Travel safely by bike. In some provinces of Canada, bike helmets are mandatory for children and adults. If you’re riding a bike at night, be sure you have front and rear bike lights and wear reflective clothing. Bicycles must ride on the road or on a bicycle path and bikers must follow the same traffic rules as car drivers.

Travel safely on buses, trains and taxis. Know your bus route and schedule before you leave. Do not hitchhike. Taxis or ride sharing services like Uber and Lyft are a good way to get home when it’s late and dark. Canadian taxis have meters showing the cost of the ride. Many public transportation systems also offer safety measures (such as emergency phones at stations) and special assistance for people travelling alone at night.

Travel safely around Canada. Don’t leave your bags or belongings unattended in airports and bus or train stations. If you decide to hike, climb or bike alone in a more remote place in Canada always tell someone where you’re going and when you’ll return. Register with the park ranger’s desk at the information centre if your adventure travel takes you through a provincial or national park.

Dealing with homesickness

It’s perfectly normal to miss home when you are an international student. You may miss your family and friends, or you may long for everything that is familiar to you, the food, the lifestyle, your routine and your home. This is called homesickness and it’s part of dealing with culture shock. Understanding that it’s normal for you to feel this way, and knowing how to deal with it, will help you adjust to your new life in Canada.

What are the symptoms of homesickness? You may not be able to concentrate in class or finish your assignments with ease. You may notice things about Canada that make you long for home:

  • When is winter going to end?
  • Why is everyone so busy?
  • Why is it hard for me to make friends?

Tips for dealing with homesickness

  • Spend time with friends and talk to them about how you're feeling. Many international students say their friends become like family when they’re away from home.
  • Set up specific times for video calls with your family. Your life on campus can be very hectic, so make time to maintain these connections. Seeing their faces will help you. Force yourself to stay in touch through good times and bad.
  • Cook food from your home country. Prepare a meal with your favourite foods as a treat for Canadian friends, perhaps with other students from your country. 
  • Join sports, activities or clubs on campus. Take part in events for international students. This will help you develop a circle of friends. Talking about homesickness with people who understand will soothe your mind.
  • Get to know Canadian students. You may get invitations to their homes for Canadian holidays or visits with their family. They can help you understand Canadian culture.

Laughing about the quirks of Canadian culture is just as important as understanding the etiquette of your new country.

If you find that you’ve spent too long without laughing and homesickness is taking over, contact the health clinic or counselling centre at your school. A counsellor can provide the support you need to start feeling better.

Connecting with others

Most international students find that connecting with others helps ease the transition into life in Canada. It also ensures that you have a positive experience when you study abroad. Just as you’ll have a need to keep in touch with your family and friends back home, it’s equally important to connect to the people you meet on campus, at work and in your new community.

Tips for connecting with others

  • Make Canadian and international friends. Be sure to have a mix of both to make the most of your experience and to benefit from their perspectives.
  • Get involved with campus life. Join a club, do sports in the gym, get active by working out with others, attend campus events like theatre or music and spend time hanging out in student lounges.
  • Join the international students’ association on campus. You’ll meet other students from your country and from all over the world who have a lot in common with you. They can also help you navigate your new life in Canada.
  • Talk to other students before or after class. You already have your course in common. Why not get to know them and perhaps discover a new study partner?
  • Use social media to widen your circle. Choose your favourite platforms to meet new friends, set up social plans, connect with classmates, schedule a study session or plan your group meetings.

[1] Institute for Economics and Peace, 2018 (PDF).

Au Canada comme chez soi

Que pourriez-vous faire pour vous sentir chez vous au Canada? Chaque personne s’adapte en fonction de sa personnalité, mais il est utile de comprendre ce qu’est le choc culturel et ses manifestations. Il est également important de se sentir en sécurité et de créer des liens avec les personnes qui vous entourent. La qualité de votre expérience au Canada dépendra des personnes qui vous entourent et de ce que vous partagerez avec elles.

Cette section porte sur la sécurité personnelle, le mal du pays et ses remèdes et sur la manière de créer des liens avec autrui.

Votre sécurité personnelle

Le Canada est l’un des pays les plus paisibles de la planète. C’est également l’un des plus sécuritaires. Selon l’indice mondial de la paix (Global Peace Index), produit par l’Institute for Economics and Peace, le Canada se classe systématiquement dans les premiers rangs des pays examinés du point de vue de la paix et de la sécurité[1].

Toutefois, au Canada, il faut quand même adopter les mêmes règles de sécurité qu’ailleurs dans le monde. Voici quelques conseils pour assurer votre sécurité :

Inscrivez-vous à votre ambassade ou consulat. Nous vous suggérons d’indiquer à l’ambassade ou au consulat de votre pays que vous habitez au Canada. En cas d’accident ou d’urgence, les autorités canadiennes sauront à qui s’adresser.

Connaissez votre environnement et les coordonnées des services d’aide. Les collèges et les universités recrutent des agents de sécurité pour assurer la sécurité des étudiants. Ces services peuvent comprendre des voitures de patrouille, une ligne téléphonique accessible 24 h sur 24 et des kiosques bien éclairés équipés d’une ligne directe avec le bureau de la sécurité. En cas d’urgence, il faut composer le 9-1-1 pour appeler la police, les pompiers ou une ambulance.

Votre sécurité sur le campus. Écoutez votre instinct et éloignez-vous de situations qui vous mettent mal à l’aise, par exemple, vous retrouver dans un laboratoire le soir, avec un parfait inconnu. Certains collèges et universités offrent un service de raccompagnement à la maison. Pour assurer votre sécurité, des étudiants qualifiés vous raccompagnent chez vous ou ailleurs.

Votre sécurité à la maison. Rencontrez vos voisins. Quand vous louez un logement, traitez directement avec le propriétaire et ne payez votre loyer qu’à celui-ci. Demandez un reçu comme preuve de paiement. Ne laissez pas entrer dans l’immeuble des personnes que vous ne connaissez pas. Si on sonne à votre porte et que vous n’attendez personne – technicien, livreur ou vendeur – demandez à l’inconnu de s’adresser au concierge de l’immeuble. Votre porte doit être verrouillée, même quand vous êtes chez vous.

Votre sécurité dans la rue. Méfiez-vous des étrangers, comme vous le feriez ailleurs dans le monde. Le soir, marchez dans des rues achalandées et bien éclairées. Dans la mesure du possible, déplacez-vous avec un ami et évitez les endroits isolés comme les parcs et les ruelles. Le taux de criminalité est peut-être plus élevé dans certains quartiers. Renseignez-vous pour savoir quel est le meilleur itinéraire pour vous rendre à destination en toute sécurité.

Comprendre l’alcool et ses conséquences. Certains étudiants boivent de l’alcool. Si c’est votre cas, soyez conscient de vos limites. Pour éviter que quelqu’un ne mette de la drogue dans votre verre, ne le laissez pas sans surveillance dans un bar ou lors d’une soirée. Au Canada, l’alcool au volant est un crime passible de prison ou du retrait de permis. Également, ne montez pas en auto avec une personne qui a trop bu d’alcool (ou qui a consommé de la drogue).

Votre sécurité à vélo. Dans certaines provinces canadiennes, le port du casque est obligatoire pour les enfants et les adultes. Si vous vous déplacez à vélo la nuit, portez des vêtements réfléchissants et assurez-vous que votre bicyclette est munie de feux avant et arrière. Les cyclistes doivent rouler sur la route ou sur une piste cyclable et ils doivent suivre le code de la route, comme les conducteurs de voiture.

Votre sécurité en autobus, en train et en taxi. Familiarisez-vous avec l’itinéraire et l’horaire de l’autobus avant de quitter la maison. Ne faites pas de l’auto-stop. Quand il est tard et qu’il fait noir, la meilleure solution est d’avoir recours à des services vous permettant de partager une course, comme Uber et Lyft. Les taxis canadiens sont dotés de compteurs affichant le prix de la course. De nombreux services de transport public ont adopté des mesures de sécurité (par exemple, l’installation de téléphones à certaines stations) et offrent une aide spéciale aux personnes voyageant seules la nuit.

Visiter le Canada en toute sécurité. Ne laissez pas vos bagages ou autres effets sans surveillance dans les aéroports ou les gares de train ou d’autobus. Si vous décidez de faire de la randonnée, de l’escalade ou du vélo en solitaire dans un endroit plus reculé du pays, dites à quelqu’un où vous allez et à quel moment vous reviendrez. Si l’aventure vous mène jusqu’à un parc national ou provincial, consignez votre nom dans le registre du gardien du parc, au centre d’information.

Composer avec le mal du pays

Il est tout à fait normal d’éprouver une certaine tristesse en pensant à votre pays quand vous êtes un étudiant international. Votre famille et vos amis vous manquent, ou encore vous vous languissez de tout ce que vous connaissez, vos plats préférés, votre mode de vie, vos habitudes et votre maison. C’est ce qu’on appelle « le mal du pays ». Cela fait partie du choc culturel avec lequel un étudiant international doit composer. Vous vous adapterez mieux à votre nouvelle vie au Canada si vous comprenez cet état et si vous savez comment y réagir.

Quels sont les symptômes du mal du pays? Vous pourriez avoir de la difficulté à vous concentrer en classe ou à terminer vos travaux. Certains aspects du Canada vous donneront envie de rentrer chez vous :

  • Est-ce que l’hiver a une fin?
  • Pourquoi est-ce que tout le monde est si occupé?
  • Pourquoi ai-je de la difficulté à me faire des amis?

Conseils pour surmonter le mal du pays

  • Passez du temps avec des amis et confiez-leur vos sentiments. De nombreux étudiants internationaux affirment que leurs amis deviennent leur famille quand ils sont à l’étranger.
  • Organisez des appels vidéo avec les membres de votre famille. Vous serez heureux de voir leurs visages. Votre rythme de vie est peut-être effréné sur le campus, alors ménagez-vous du temps pour ces appels. Obligez-vous à rester en contact avec eux dans les bons comme dans les mauvais moments.
  • Cuisinez des plats typiques de votre pays. Régalez vos amis canadiens en leur préparant un repas composé de vos ingrédients favoris. Vous pourriez même cuisiner avec d’autres étudiants originaires de votre pays. 
  • Sur le campus, faites partie d’équipes sportives, de clubs étudiants ou participez à d’autres activités. Allez aux événements destinés aux étudiants internationaux, vous pourrez ainsi élargir votre cercle d’amis. Vous pourrez échanger avec d’autres étudiants internationaux au sujet du mal du pays. Ils vous comprendront et cela vous apaisera.
  • Faites connaissance avec des étudiants canadiens. Ils pourraient vous inviter chez eux pendant les jours fériés ou à faire des visites avec leur famille. Ils pourraient vous aider à comprendre la culture canadienne.

Riez des travers de la culture canadienne, c’est tout aussi important que de comprendre l’étiquette de votre nouveau pays.

Si vous trouvez que vous ne riez plus depuis un moment et que le mal du pays prend le dessus, communiquez avec le centre de santé ou de counseling se trouvant sur le campus. Un psychothérapeute pourrait vous donner le soutien dont vous avez besoin pour vous sentir mieux.

Créer des liens

La plupart des étudiants internationaux trouvent qu’il est plus facile de s’adapter à leur nouvelle vie au Canada s’ils créent des liens. Votre expérience d’étudiant international n’en sera que plus positive. De la même manière qu’il faut rester en contact avec la famille et les amis restés au pays, il faut créer des liens avec les personnes que vous rencontrez sur le campus, au travail ou dans votre nouvelle collectivité.

Conseils pour créer des liens

  • Faites-vous des amis Canadiens et étrangers. Vous pourrez ainsi tirer le meilleur parti de votre expérience et vous bénéficierez de différents points de vue.
  • Participez aux activités organisées sur le campus. Inscrivez-vous à un club, faites du sport au centre sportif, travaillez avec d’autres personnes, assistez à des concerts ou des pièces de théâtre, et passez du temps dans le salon étudiant.
  • Joignez-vous à une association étudiante sur le campus. Vous y rencontrerez des étudiants de votre pays et d’ailleurs dans le monde avec lesquels vous aurez beaucoup de choses en commun. Ils pourront aussi vous aider à vous y retrouver dans votre nouvelle vie au Canada.
  • Parlez à des camarades de classe avant ou après les cours. Vous avez déjà un cours en commun. Pourquoi ne pas faire connaissance avec eux et peut-être trouver un nouveau partenaire d’études?
  • Utilisez les médias sociaux pour élargir votre cercle d’amis. Choisissez la plateforme que vous préférez pour rencontrer de nouvelles personnes, organiser des rencontres, communiquer avec des camarades de classe, prévoir une période d’études ou une réunion d’équipe.

[1] Institute for Economics and Peace, Global Peace Index (PDF), 2018, (anglais seulement).